Tracey: Just Sayin’

My focus on this journey has been all about health.  The scale sliding down further and the clothing choices that have opened up to me are not bad either, don’t get me wrong, but I’m really trying to come at this thing with an all-encompassing point of view.  It’s why I’ve posted here about sleep, about exercise, about nutrition, about journaling, and why I’m now going to talk about sex, baby.

In our goals to finding ultimate health, how many of us even figure physical intimacy into the equation?  Okay, well, I admit I HAVE tried to find “sex” in the  exercise portion on MFP to put it as a calorie burn, but shockingly, it’s not listed! That needs to be remedied, frankly!

Gettin’ busy actually has many benefits that are worth checking into while you’re exploring your total body health journey.  Did you know that 30 minutes of sex burns approximately 86 calories?  It also relieves stress, boosts immunity, improves heart health, (2x a week reduces heart attack risk in men by HALF) strengthens pelvic floor muscles in women, reduces prostate cancer risk, lowers pain, and helps you sleep better. 

In an informal poll of my friends (ahem),  it seems physical intimacy falls somewhere below putting laundry away on the old “to do” list.  The average frequency seems to be about once a week, if that, though polls seem to suggest 2-3x a week is the norm. 

So, here’s my pulpit moment, folks.

Sex is natural, sex is good, not everybody does it, but everybody should.  Actually, those are George Michael’s lyrics but it summed it up so nicely for me.  Clearly, for many, physical intimacy is not even on the radar when it comes to health. I’m saying, maybe it should be. That’s all.

Just sayin’

This entry was posted in Tracey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tracey: Just Sayin’

  1. Claire says:

    Ha! Ha! Love it! Sex makes both partners happy! And why wouldn’t y’all just want to be happy? Just sayin’. :)

  2. Conny Mc says:

    You forgot to poll me ;p

Leave a Reply

