Barbara – Role models

I talk about running a lot at home, just like I do here. The impact of all of this talk is evident in Reid. As I wrote last time, she was determined to run the 5K race on Race Weekend and is already wondering when she can run a 10K. I’ve offered a compromise that we’ll enroll her in one of the Ottawa Lion’s Athletics programs for young runners.

Reid is spending some time at my mom’s this summer, which is close to the rest of my family, and so I registered her in a swim class with her cousin. He isn’t at the same level as her but I put her in the same class anyway. I decided to “sell” it as a chance for her to practice breathing to the side without worrying about the distance. Reid was not concerned at all, responding with “Sometimes marathoners run a 5k for training.” Okay, then.

Now and again, I’m reminded of how much I am a role model in Reid’s life (yikes!) and what a great responsibility that is. And now I’m thinking about the role models in my own life. I greatly admire folks like Liz Knight, who has trained and changed her diet so significantly that she won a figure competition last weekend, and Katie, with her amazing marathon story and all around passion for fitness, but there are also Jenn (who ran a marathon and got married on back-to-back weekends) Wordywort and all of the other amazing Losing It ladies (past and present) who share the things they’ve learned. I’m not sure I’ve been paying as close attention to them as  Reid does to me. I need to focus, more, I think.

What about you? Who are your role models and why?

This entry was posted in Barbara and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Barbara – Role models

  1. Shona says:

    I find that overall, the ladies that post here are fitness and health role models. You keep eating well and exercise in my head, which helps me to think about better choices, even if I’m not at a place where I can ‘go hardcore’. I am also lucky to have a couple friends here in Montreal who act as role models for me (those gym buddies that pushed me just enough). I am taking a break from the gym right now, but I look forward to being able to make more time for it again when my baby is a little older. My former self would never have said something like that…

  2. Good question Barbara! Right now, my biggest role model is my sister. Being active and eating well are a part of her everyday life and she knowes how to make good life choices. I look up to her and I am proud to say that she is my younger sister! In April, she gave birth to the most beautiful baby girl. She was active trough all her pregnancy, biking, snowshoeing, walking and swimming on a regular basis. Since I plan on becoming a mom soon, it feels good to see someone who can enjoy her pregnancy and be active while respecting her body.

  3. wordywort says:

    Wow is that a compliment, especially coming from someone I admire! I really liked a comment you made elsewhere, about how your year-ago self was a good role model. So many times I think about how much smarter, stronger, etc I am now than in the past, but once in awhile, I find my past self has left a gift for a future self to discover – I just love it when that happens.

  4. Sasha says:

    Many of my role models are right here!! You, Wordywort, and Katie all figure hugely. And while I’m very aware of the model I am for my kids, I’m not doing much about it right now. And I need to fix that. Although something else I have to remind myself of: it’s never too late to start.

  5. Tracey says:

    I also agree that the Losing It community has been one of THE most important factors in my journey. Hearing others stories, struggles and triumphs definitely keeps pushing me forward. My friends are great running/exercising/encouraging supporters and cheerleaders….and the other day my youngest daughter said that when shes an adult she hopes to be as “strong” as me. That felt pretty sweet, too.

Leave a Reply

