Barbara – Summer of Awesome, Losing It style

With Victoria Day upon us, it seems like the summer has official started. I’ve seen lots of talk about the firsts – first barbecue, first trip for ice cream, first drinks on the patio. I want to celebrate summer, too, but without making it all about food and calories. Last year, Sara wrote about her Summer of Awesome on her personal blog and this year, I’d like to plan my own Summer of Awesome to celebrate the season without sabotaging my weight and fitness.

I’ll need some help to develop a full plan and also to get myself to the activities – I’m a great planner but need help with execution sometimes. Here’s what I have so far:

  • Alcatel-Lucent Sunday Bike Days – from 9am-1pm on Sundays, the NCC parkways are closed and people can roller blade, bike and run along them. Reid and I roller bladed for a embarassingly short distance last summer. I want to extend the distance this year.
  • Camp Fortune Aerial Adventure – with rope bridges, suspended walkways and net gangways, this course scares me silly. I’ll need someone to hold my hand, talk tough love and then swagger with me at the end when we finish it.
  • City of Ottawa outdoor pool – I grew up on a farm and learned to swim in an outdoor pool. In the last few decades, I’ve done minimal actual swimming. I want to get past my “survival swim skills” and maybe returning to my roots will help.
  • Perth Kilt Run – I’m trying to find fun, somewhat odd runs to participate in. This one will meet the requirements.
  • Gatineau Park hike – I’ve been to Moorside/Kingsmere many times but I think walking the paths in that part of the park would qualify as a “ramble” more than a hike. I want to tackle a hike that requires proper footwear, a water bottle and some sweating to complete.
  • Ride a bike outside – Confession time: I haven’t been on a bike outside in about 15 years. Worse, I’m afraid to do it because I might fall off. I need to get back on the horse, as they say.
  • Ottawa city beaches –  I swam in Lake Erie as a child. It was cold and wavy and I loved it. I still go in when I’m visiting my mom. Ottawa beaches, though, are a bit intimidating now that people are concerned with things like water quality. :)

What active outdoor activities am I missing? Have you done any of the above? Do you want to do any of the above with me?

Moving it

I woke up last Sunday with a pulled muscle. I ran 20 kilometres anyway and spent the rest of the week limping and in pain. I’m a bit worried about my half-marathon on May 26 but will baby my leg until then and hope for the best.

Losing it

I’m not. My body really likes this weight and I’m still looking for the spark that will get my commitment re-energized.

This entry was posted in Barbara and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Barbara – Summer of Awesome, Losing It style

  1. Katie Squires says:

    Ouch….rest up this week and I bet you will be fine…but sending healing prayers for you just in case :)
    I WOULD LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LIKE REALLY LOVE to the ARIEL PARK THING!!!!!

    • Barbara says:

      Thanks, Katie. I am resting. I want to get to the start line feeling good – and to the finish line any old way will be fine ;)

      I’ll set the arial park up as a Facebook event. It seems popular.

  2. wordywort says:

    Sign me up for hiking or an aerial adventure! And I’ve been thinking about doing more trail running now that shade seems like a bonus.

    • Barbara says:

      I’m a bit of a fraidy-cat about trail running. I don’t think of myself as graceful. But, shade!

  3. Sasha says:

    Great ideas!!!! And I love the idea of a list like this, too. Bike Days is yet another reason to get back into biking shape, and I’d love to get hiking in Gatineau this year. Or even just family hikes in the green belt. We did a bit of geocaching last year, and Meena loved it – Boo is getting old enough to maybe get the idea of ‘hidden treasure’ too. We’ll have to do some of that this summer.

    Thanks for the inspiration! I think I may have to make my own list…

    • Barbara says:

      Geocaching could be fun. The only time we tried, we couldn’t find the cache. The local geogache group told us where it was and were super-helpful, though.

  4. Tracey Ives says:

    Sorry to hear about the leg! I hope taking it easy will have it better than new soon! I LOVE this list! Was just thinking of what I will do to keep active this summer! We should definitely plan some Losing It meet ups/workouts at some of these suggestions! I’m in!

    • Barbara says:

      I want to start the meet up/workout habit to replace/complement the meetup/eat out habit. I’ll let you know if I set dates but please let me/us know if you set some up.

  5. As a new-ish resident of Ottawa (it’ll be my first summer here!) thank you for these great ideas!! I’m about 1/4 through my weight loss journey and it’s nice to read a local healthy living blog. Keep up the great work!

  6. Barbara says:

    Thanks and welcome! Ottawa has so much to offer. We need to plan what to take advantage of or we run out of time. By “we”, I most definitely mean “me” ;)

Leave a Reply

