Lara : weight loss apathy

When I was having lunch with Barbara a week or so ago we had a discussion about where I’m at with my weight loss journey and she brought up a point that pretty much describes exactly where I’m at and why.

Weight loss apathy.

When I started this journey it was because I was really unhappy with how I looked.  There was one photo in particular that I saw and it made me die a little inside I felt so…. ICKY about how I looked.  (icky isn’t really the word I would use, but I’m trying to be kind to myself)

So I got on the bandwagon and I lost weight.  And I lost almost 30 lbs. And I started working out. And I felt GOOD.  And I went down two full clothing sizes.  And I looked in the mirror and I thought “wow, I’m looking much better!”  and people are coming up to me and telling me how great I look.

Combine the satisfaction of a job well done (what? the job isn’t done… are you sure? it’s kind of feeling done…), a busy busy life, and well…. nothing is kicking my ass to keep working on it.

So what can I do to change that?  The only good idea I’ve had is to have someone take some horribly unattractive photos of me walking or running in unflattering clothing or something but that hardly seems like something one should do on purpose does it? :)

I’m trying to maintain and doing ok, but I haven’t been to the gym in weeks and the thought of trying to fit it in freaks me out.

So I’m going to keep rolling along and I hope you’ll still be interested in what I have to say.. because as I roll I am still trying to read through the book about emotional eating, trying to stay away from binge eating, and trying to drink my water. And eventually something will gross me out enough about my weight to finally kick me back into the right space.

I would like to know how those of you who have lost a lot of weight keep up the momentum – throw me some ideas!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in Lara and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Lara : weight loss apathy

  1. Shona says:

    Nothing works like a candid shot – I had one taken recently of me running (while playing softball) and that showed me I still have quite a bit of work to do… Also seeing really fit people at the gym, and then looking in the mirror helps, too. ;) (I think, nope, I still don’t look like that!)

  2. sherrilynne7 says:

    There’s a general theme running on this blog lately about apathy and motivation. We should put our heads together to find a way around this issue. Maybe a meet up with a life coach or similar?

  3. Karen F. says:

    Hmmm, a life coach sounds great. I wonder if they’d let you split the cost like they do with personal trainers. I’d be willing to do that with you. I need help too!

  4. Sasha says:

    I know I’m better at doing something than not doing something (so, for example, going for a run rather than not eating the cake), and I wonder if that can be applied to the larger goal as it were – so wanting to be slim/fit/whatever your goal is, rather than not wanting to be where you are.

    Although I have to admit that, at the moment, I’m not even thinking much about where I’m going, or even why. What’s working for me right now is focussing on actions and keeping the action list small. After focussing on journalling for long enough, I now feel like I can’t not journal. The running thing has taken even less time to catch on – and believe me, I’m as surprised as anyone – but I already feel like I can’t not run.

    So my idea? Same as when Vicky and I were chatting (see my comments on her last post): pick one thing, and focus on it. And just keep at it until it sticks.

  5. Pingback: Barbara – No one plans to become unhealthy | Losing It In Ottawa

  6. Lara C W says:

    Hi Lara – I lost quite a lit of weight but I did it so slowly over the last 4 years. I gained 70lbs of pregnancy weight w my last child plus was still 20 lbs from my pre-pregnancy weight w my first child when I got pregnant w my second 2 yes later. After the first couple months post delivery i still had only lost about 20lbs. But 4 years later and i weigh less than i did before i got pregnant w my first. It wasnt easy but it also wasnt something i focussed on specifically. My goals were always to eat healthy and become athletic. Not lose x ponds.

    For me it was a radical (although slow and progressive) change in diet by simply eating practically zero processed foods and no fast food. I was motivated by trying new meals and the researcher in me started learning about food science metabolism and exercise science. When I got my kids interested in vegetables by joining a CSA it motivated me further. Running and setting goal races also was motivating. When it was stressful I did something different instead of stopping all together. Seeing how interested in physical activity my kids were when I modeled this activity, that also helped to maintain focus. Try to find something you really like is all I can suggest. That and getting proper sleep which i think is really challenging for parents w kids under 4.

    Unfortunately my biggest motivations are not happy stories – almost losing my mother 2 years ago to obesity related chronic disease and my own car accident that took away my ability to do the things I loved in many ways or at least to the extent I wanted. That motivates me everyday even if it’s only small bouts of 15 minutes of physical activity here and there. I hope you can figure out a happy medium for yourself without guilt or feeling “icky” about how you look.

  7. cyniclite says:

    I can totally peek out around corners in the house with the camera and take candids.

  8. Pingback: Sasha – Reality Check | Losing It In Ottawa

Leave a Reply

