Lara – not getting what I want

I want to know why a cheeseburger and fries can make me feel so much better after a day of fighting with screaming children.

I want to know why I can’t enjoy a salad and fish the way I can a Georgia Mud Fudge blizzard.

I want my addiction to food, fattening ones in particular, to magically go away because life is hard and crazy and I don’t want to battle hard and crazy and food addiction at the same time.

But I can’t get all those things.

I read a post on emotional eating this week that made me decide that maybe the solution is to get to the root of the problem.  (I don’t really want to do that either btw) So I downloaded the book mentioned in the blog post and tomorrow, when I’m walking 32 kms for the weekend to end cancer, I will be listening to that book.

And that’s the first goal I’m setting for myself for this next eight week session – to read that book.  I hope it answers some questions and gives me some new strategies.

Are you an emotional eater? Do you have good tips for overcoming that? Does it ever get any easier?

This entry was posted in Lara and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Lara – not getting what I want

  1. Karin says:

    Lara,
    If you figure it out, be sure and let the rest of us know :)

  2. Shona says:

    That sounds like an excellent first goal!! I bet those 32 kms will be quite a personal journey for you on so many levels. I am so proud of you for doing all that hard work (mental and physical)!

    I am also super curious to hear what that expert recommends, so be sure to pass on your wisdom. :)

  3. SO freaking true….the moment the stress peaks with the kids I want sweets like there is no tomorrow….drives me crazy…that and the kids LOL.

  4. jenn says:

    I too am an emotional eater Lara. I hope the book works for you and I will be thinking of you tomorrow! Good Luck!

  5. Donna says:

    I’m taking a three week course starting next week called “craving change: why we eat” offered through my doctor’s office..I’ll let you know if I find any good nuggets!!

  6. uppercaseK says:

    Thank you Lara for posting this link. I struggle with the same problem and I think I am going to get that book too.

    Good luck for your walk!

  7. I look forward to hearing what you have to say about the book.

    I’m an emotional eater as well, but I find that I do better with that at home than I do when I am out. My house is stocked with plenty of real, healthy food that I also find comforting. It doesn’t mean it has no calories, but it is certainly better than the poutine I would be stuffing in my face if the urge hit while I was downtown at work.

  8. Lara Winnemore says:

    this is a really important step Lara and I hope it helps you with some insight into why it has become a conditioned response for you (it is for so many of us!!). but the reasons why and how to manage and cope with that are different for everyone. :) have you heard of mindfulness training? it is a really insightful approach to dealing with stress/negative behaviors and has been adapted to help people who are emotional eaters. I have used mindful eating as something for myself as I am also an emotional eater. I think because are lives are so full of divided attention we even multi-task when we eat. Being in the moment when you eat, using other tactics like taking a photo of what you are about to eat before doing so (this has been tested in peer reviewed research…i can get you information), different tactics like this can really help. Good luck. And way to go for the 32k walk. I admire anyone who can walk that far. What patience. I would want to run to get it over with. LOL.

    • Lara says:

      I’m not sure I’ll have the patience either, but we’ll see :)

      That information/research sounds interesting – I would love to see it.

  9. Sasha says:

    Emotional eater? Hell yeah. Particularly the last few weeks. Just writing a post about it, actually :).

    As for the burger and fries etc., something you might want to try is “switching”. I heard about it at WW years ago, and didn’t really believe it then. But somewhere along the way something clicked for me: DQ? DQ is not even good ice-cream. It’s not. And cheeseburgers are greasy, slimy, ground-up cow bits that you wouldn’t touch if they were recognizable as whatever body part they once were.

    Seriously, it may take a while, but once you can internalize that, it gets easier.

    • Lara says:

      Oh boy – I don’t want to think badly of those things. And I suppose that would be the first step – being willing to even want to give them up ;)

      • Lara Winnemore says:

        you should watch jamie oliver tonight. i agree with the cow bits and good ice cream versus gross ice cream. ‘switching’ is really key. one of the ways i ended up being grossed out at the thought of eating fast food hamburgers. i was addicted to mcdonalds all through my pregnancies but there’s nothing like a homemade grilled burger we make ourselves now. it took a LONG time (did i mention to you, a process over the last 6 years ) for me to get there.

      • Sasha says:

        Oh, if you don’t want to give them up, don’t! Or I guess the question is – are they worth it to you. If they are, then they’re worth fitting-in to your day, however you’re chosing to measure/track/whatever.

        And for the record, I eat burgers. But as Lara W points out, there are other options there. I like the Blue Menu lean burgers, and have been eating them a lot recently. You can just yank them out of the freezer and toss them on the grill, and I’m all over that. And mini-pitas or flat buns can cut a lot of calories without feeling like you’re missing out (well, I don’t feel like I’m missing out – you may want to ask DH how he’s liking eating his burgers on a pita ;)).

    • Freestone F says:

      Hi Sasha,
      I’ve done WW before and hear of this too, but I never understood what it is – I guess I missed that class. What IS switching? Is it thinking of your food as animal parts like you did here? Or thinking of if you’re going to eat ice cream then just eat the good stuff? Sorry if I’m so confused.

      Karen

  10. jane says:

    You are taking a huge step this weekend by doing the walk. So when that emotional want hits think of what you did this weekend – a WALK TO END BREAST CANCER and go for a walk.

    Hugs
    Jane

  11. Annie says:

    I also think some foods can’t just be replaced… Period. But moderation is key. :) instead of 4 times a week, once every two weeks, etc etc etc. Feels like thinking like that helped me alot. :) let us know how the book is!!! :)

  12. Freestone F says:

    Hi Lara,

    I’m not sure if I’m an emotional eater. What is my downfall is (which is just as bad I think) is that if I’m stressed or upset, I’m too stressed or upset to cook because I hate cooking at the best of times. So that’s when I’ll get take out etc. Same with if I’m too busy of course, or tired – so that doesn’t leave me much, LOL. And I also eat certain junk food at certain times of the day out of HABIT, and I have to admit that IS comforting. I don’t really believe that people eat because they didn’t deal with some problem from their childhood, but I do believe that they eat if they’re upset etc. Not sure how to fix that so please let us know how the book goes.

  13. OttMomGo says:

    I’m reading this in the middle of my second 3 hour drive in as many days. I have had too much stress and too few healthy options (not to mention no emotional energy to make the right choices). I’m at that place on the emotional eating pendulum swing where the only viable choice seems to be the Atkins diet. I hope you made it through that while you walked. We need it!

    Congrats on 32 kilometres walked, by the way. You’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

