Lara – week 37 – just like in the movies

So you know that movie, where the girl and the guy hook up and then the next day she doesn’t have anything to wear so she shrugs into the guy’s shirt and it’s SWIMMING on her?  You know the one I mean right?

The one where the petite and gorgeous girl is half the size of the man she has hooked up with?

You never see the one where the girl can’t put on the guy’s shirt the next morning because IT’S TOO SMALL!

Well that’s how it’s pretty much always been for me.  I’m a bigger girl and my husband is in the small to mediums in clothing.

And I’m ok with that, I honestly am.  But this week something happened that made me feel good.

I was running out to put my son on the bus and I didn’t see my coat and I picked up something off the banister and realized that I could put on and do up my husband’s size medium Old Navy hoodie.  It’s not the most flattering thing in the world, but PEOPLE, I didn’t just put it on, I did it up!  Do any of you know what I’m talking about here?

I don't do morning very well... you can tell by how tired I look here :)

It feels good to be shrinking.  Non scale victories jump out lately because I haven’t had the energy to make the scale go down.

General update

I wish I could say I worked my ass off the last two weeks, but I haven’t.  I got to meet Annie and Jennifer for the first time this week and Jennifer tells me I get to play the I have three kids under five  card, so I will ;)  I did go to a wicked hard class at the gym last week, one that I plan to try again.  I’ve also been upping my water intake a lot and am hoping that will start to make a difference.  I need to get on plan sometime soon – I hope you’ll all indulge me awhile longer as I take things at a slow slow pace.

Tale from the Scale

I’ve maintained.  I wish saying ‘at least I haven’t gained’ didn’t sound quite as lame as it does, but there you have it.  Better luck next post! :)

Someone challenge me to something (not too unattainable) – maybe it’ll kick me into gear! :)

Lara Wellman is a social media coach and strategist who also blogs about activities for kids at Kids in the Capital and her own personal motherhood journey at Gliding Through Motherhood.

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in Lara and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lara – week 37 – just like in the movies

  1. WOOT WOOT I totally get that :)

  2. Shona says:

    I still think you are doing great… slow is fine. I challenge you to work out 3 times a week for the next two weeks. :) Keep it up!

  3. Sara says:

    It not only fits its kind of baggy!!! WOOT!!!

    I have been a negligent gym friend in the last month…my bad. I promise to get your butt to the gym once Race weekend is over. Until then – let’s pick a gym date next week :)

  4. Sasha says:

    Woo hoo! I’m with Katie – I totally get that. Ultimately it’s all about the non-scale victories, right? I mean, nobody’s doing this just to see the numbers change on the scale. It’s about looking and feeling great! Good for you!

  5. Maranda says:

    What Sasha said :)

    Well done you!

  6. Vicky says:

    That’s awesome Lara! I’m thinking about joining dd with the no-sugar thing. Want to try it with me for 3 days?

  7. OttMomGo says:

    Love the non-scale victories! As for a new challenge, how about 30 minutes of activity for 30 days? You could count a 30 minute walk or class at gym or exrcise video or whatever. I’d been thinking about the city’s “Everyday in May” campaign but I was a bit slow to start.

  8. Finola says:

    I think the non-scale victories are even better than the scale victories. Way to go Lara!

Leave a Reply

