Lara – week 29 – kinda maybe sorta

I’ve been planning this post for almost two weeks… ever since I did what I promised everyone I would be doing in my last post.  I started going to the gym!

And every time I went I would spend the majority of the class thinking about how I was going to write a post all about how much I HATE TO EXERCISE!

I thought to myself, “I am not the only one who hates to exercise. I am going to keep it real and tell them like it is.  Exercise sucks and I don’t like it.  But I am doing it anyways” and then I thought about the list I was going to include:

- I hate how I look at the clock every 2 minutes willing the class to be almost over.  This begins approximately 2 minutes into the class.
- I hate that it isn’t fun.
- I hate that it hurts.
- I hate that it’s boring.
- I hate how ridiculous the exercises are.  Get up on your toes, now pliee, stick your bum out in the air, sway it back and forth, now put this clown nose on and a target on your behind for people to stare at.

Not to mention, Sara was going to the gym at 6am and I decided I needed to give that a chance too… so I was getting up at 5:30 in the morning and was driving to the gym while it was still so dark I could barely see the pigs flying overhead.

Then last Sunday Sara and I went to a boxing class. I’m not entirely shocked because I’ve wanted to try boxing for a long time, but…. I didn’t hate it.  It was….  kinda maybe sorta fun.

And then this week I joined Sara at the gym at 6am and we went swimming. I did 30 laps, some treading water and a bit of water running.  And it was…. also kinda maybe sorta not nearly as horrible as say…. the kettlebell class ;)

And the 6am thing…. it’s kinda maybe sorta easier to do than the 8pm stuff.  I jump out of bed before having had a chance to come up with any excuses for not going.  I have everything ready, all I need to do it shove a granola bar in my mouth and walk out the door.  And when I get home the kids are up, and I am wide awake and able to deal with them – it’s ALMOST pleasant, and it’s definitely preferable to going when all I want to do at 8pm is keep my a$$ on the couch.

So… I’m kinda maybe sorta admitting that this gym thing, as long as I keep trying new things to find the things that I don’t hate, might be ok.  Don’t get me wrong – I’m not LIKING it, but it’s kind of satisfying and not hating it is worth a lot.  And maybe people will be right and in six months I’ll be all “OH MAN! I LOVE going to the gym! I wish I could go to the gym 16 times a week because twice a day just ISNT ENOUGH!”  You never know ;)

Tales from the scale.

I’m up half a pound. That’s ok, I’m still figuring out this getting up at 6am thing and being hungrier because it seems like there’s time for an entire extra meal.  And I’m hungry from working out and I probably shouldn’t be eating all the calories My Fitness Pal is allotting.  But I’ll figure it out.  One step at a time.  I’m happy with where I’m at, and that is such a nice feeling.

Happy Friday everyone – tell me what you hate most about exercise and what you kinda maybe sorta don’t mind about it?

This entry was posted in Lara and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Lara – week 29 – kinda maybe sorta

  1. Yay, Lara! Our goal is progress not perfection. Going to the gym is enough. Loving it may or may not happen. I bet you’ve gained some muscle and lost some fat over the last 2 weeks. It’s worth the small gain because the muscle will burn some calories even when you’re not working out and muscle looks better under clothes than fat.

    Don’t mess with your metabolism by dropping your calories too low. Check out a BMR calculator and don’t go below that – better to do BMR*1.2 as your bottom number. Fitness Pal sets low calorie goals, I think.

    Great work at the gym!

    • Karen F says:

      Sorry if I look stupid asking this, but what does BMR*1.2 mean? I know what a BMR is, but not the *1.2 part.

  2. So very funny Miss Lara! You are right about exercising, very few people like the exercise- it’s the benefits of doing it that most people like. More energy, slimmer physique.
    You and Sara are putting my sorry self to shame. I need to kettlebell up. Wish I could swim with you guys.

  3. Maranda says:

    Go Lara! Finding something you like to do is soooo key. Keep it up and I’ll bet you *will* be one of Those People in a few months!

    Don’t worry about the scale, half a pound is nothing. It’s great that you’re aware that exercise will make you hungrier, you’ll get used to it in no time and balance everything out. You may need to shift more calories to the morning since you’re up earlier and burning more energy. And like Mom On The Go said, make sure you eat enough.

    I’m so proud of you, this is amazing progress! So inspiring!

  4. Shona says:

    Yay Lara! I bet you get hooked (after a while). At least you will get hooked on the results. :) As for the hunger, maybe try eating protein instead of a granola bar before you go work out. (Have some light cheese or some yogurt or eggs – it might help.)

    Keep it up, girl!! :)

  5. Sara says:

    If six months ago someone would have said “you and Lara will be gym buddies and working out together at 6 am” I would have snorted and guffawed. And then shook my head in disbelief.

    Me, at a gym? Willingly? At 6 am? With someone who is as equally (if not more) scornful of exercise. Right….

    I AM SO PROUD OF YOU!!!!!!

    x1000

    I hope that in six months I like it. I’m going with love being a slow burn and taking a while to get there ;)

  6. Jane says:

    Lara – Way to go :) Simpy amazing and enjoy the fact that you have a friend to sweat it out with and then guess what its done for the day and the excuses are gone from your mind.

    Enjoy the ride :)

  7. Jay says:

    I’ve always HATED lunges. Even way back when – when I was actually enjoying weight training. I have always said – one day I will learn to love lunges. I haven’t learned to love them yet, but I don’t hate them anymore:)

    Great job Lara! Keep up the good work!!!

  8. sherrilynne7 says:

    Funny post. I really enjoyed reading it. Thanks! BTW what I hate about exercise is that it takes me away from my work. But I’m a bit of a workaholic. I love to work all day, all the time and resent most things that interfere with it.

  9. Finola says:

    It’s so important to find exercise that you enjoy, otherwise it’s too hard to keep it up.
    Way to go Lara!

  10. For the record, I vote for funny :)

    Good on you moving outside your comfort zone!!! You should be very proud of yourself.

  11. Ron says:

    I’m thinking you may have won our gym challenge. I’ve posted my numbers in my post coming out on Sunday morning (in a few hours).

  12. Karen says:

    Going to the gym in the morning is truly the best way I’ve ever done it. If I didn’t have to drag myself out of bed at 4:30 to do a morning workout and still make it to work on time, I’d probably do it, too. :)

  13. annie B says:

    boxing is my new found love!!! i think that once im back from france, ill be taking up boxing seriously. :)
    and kudos to you on waking up early for those workouts.. i still cant get myself out of bed unless its to go see my trainer. :)
    keep it up!!!

Leave a Reply

