Sherrilynne – Week 4 – It could be worse

Weight Watchers company logo

Image via Wikipedia

It could be worse.  I could be putting it back on.  But as it stands, I’m certainly not ‘losing it’.  On the surface it’s pretty discouraging.  Last week, after losing just 0.2 lbs in week 3 I was just about ready to give up on WeightWatcher ProPoints, but I’ve decided to hang on a bit longer.

In fact in the last 21 days I’ve managed to lose a grand total of 2lbs. Big whoop!

I know what people will say, ‘at least you lost’ or ‘it’s all part of the journey’ or ‘we all have our bad weeks’, because I also say these things to myself,  but still I’m fed up.

Until last week, I’d stuck to the programme. I’d kept track of everything. I reserved 28 weeklies ProPoints left unused. I worked out as much as I could at the first part this stint, (things have slipped) but the weight came off in ounces.

Yes I’m eating healthily and that’s a good thing.  Yes I’m exercising and that’s a good thing too.  But let’s not kid ourselves, we put the time, effort and money into this thing to lose pounds…not grams.

I weighed myself this morning; I stayed exactly the same since last week.  Mind you, it’s two days early for my weigh in, so all is not lost.

But then, I sat back and asked myself, “Sherrilynne, what changes have you really made?”  And the honest answer is not that many.

My diet is usually very good so eating WW heathy foods is not a big change for me.  And as my workload has picked up, I’ve not really been keeping the to my goal of exercising five times a week (especially these last two weeks).  And despite having made a few changes to help improve my sleep, I know I’ve been slipping back into old habits, and a tired Sherrilynne is not an exercising Sherrilynne, that’s a fact.

So I guess I’m recognising that I’ve got to make more changes in my lifestyle if I want to keep on track.  Looking at my WW food journal, it seems to me that I sometimes struggle to get in my five servings of fruit and veg each day.  For the next week I’m really going to concentrate on that to see if it helps.

Also, I’m going to try again on the sleep front. Cut back on caffiene. Cut out the wine.  No TV in bed. Let’s see how a few good nights’ sleep will help me in my ambition to be more active.

Seems like I have to keep learning the same lessons over and over.

This entry was posted in Sherrilynne and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sherrilynne – Week 4 – It could be worse

  1. Shona says:

    Sometimes things are slow and it’s SO frustrating! I totally hear that. Questions: Are you eating your exercise points? If so, not eating them could make a difference. Also, you can try eating even less of the bonus points. I find the weeks where I really push it, I try to eat the bare minimum (I go for not eating any, but then inevitably I eat about 15) I bet that will make a difference too. And sometimes, even though you are working really hard, the scale does not show you what you want. The real trick is to just keep at it even though you are frustrated, and eventually it comes.

    When you are working out are you doing more cardio or weights? If you are doing weights, you could be toning (shrinking) but not going down so dramatically on the scale. Have you been taking your measurements? That could give you another way to measure your success in a concrete way.

    Oh, and by the way, eating healthy, exercising, and losing 2 lbs ain’t something to completely brush off! You are having success! It might not be as much as you would like, but it is success none the less. You are doing it and you will continue to do it, and you will get your results that you want if you keep at it. Last night at my WW meeting, the leader said, ‘It’s not a race. You don’t need to lose it by a certain date. They call it lifetime for a reason.’ We are in this for the long haul, really, and you are only going to feel better and better. :) Keep at it! You will do it!

    • sherrilynne7 says:

      It is frustrating, yes. And, you are right, I have to cut back because what I’m doing now is not working. This week I’ll leave all the activity points on the table and will try very hard to use less than half of my weeklies. My exercise routine consists of yoga, power walks and x-trainer sessions when it’s raining. This week I’m going to try to be patient too.

  2. Annie B says:

    I feel you on your post today. This weightloss thing is HARD!!! Especially doing it the “healthy” way. I was on Herbal Magic about a year and a half ago and lost 20 pounds… I gained it all back and then more because really, eating 900 calories a day, isnt “normal”.
    But i’ve also realized and understand that I MUST be patient. This stuff is complicated… when to eat, what times, what to eat, what are good exercises, fat burning heart rate, cardiovascular heart rate, etc etc etc. blah blah blah. Some weeks are fantastic, some weeks suck, some weeks are average, some weeks you just want to quit… all that matters is that you keep getting back on.
    I heard a quote the other day about giving up on weightloss (or anything really) that said, “A year from now, you will wish you started today.”
    Keep it up, don’t give up and keep on trucking and making the good decisions you’ve been making. :)
    It will pay off in the end. (thats what i keep telling myself)
    Cheers lovely.

  3. Karen F says:

    Yeah, I’ve been struggling for quite a while too. There IS a direct co-relation to not getting enough sleep and weight gain though, so work on that first. If you don’t sleep enough, you’ll be dragging yourself around all day and exercise won’t come easy. It really helps with your mood too, which in turn usually gives you a more positive attitude and therefore more “stick with it” power. I’m not the best sleeper either and I see a big difference on the days I get enough and the days I don’t. Hang in there!

  4. Donna says:

    This could be me…..thanks for your honesty…change doesn’t happen unless we make some changes….this post is a great reminder!

    • sherrilynne7 says:

      I’m glad you liked it. I figured, I didn’t sign up for this gig to be dishonest. I wanted accountability. So there you have it.

  5. Lara says:

    It sounds like you know what`s up. More sleep is so important. More exercise is hard to fit in, but also important.
    Jennifer said she cut out a few of her ww points last week and saw a big difference just with that. Would that maybe work? Is your water intake high?
    You can do it, maybe one of the changes needs to be to change your expectations ;) Be proud of your 2 lbs, even if it isn’t as much as you would have liked.

  6. sherrilynne7 says:

    Jennifer is right. Also she has the accountability of a weekly meeting and I’m sure that helps. Patience has never been a virtue of mine, but with this duff thyroid of mine, I’m going to have to get some practice. :-)

  7. Tracey says:

    Your frank post is motivation for others. We all recognize a bit of ourselves in other people’s journeys.

    Hang in there. 2 pounds is actually a good chunk of weight (I know you have heard this). I gave up long ago being discouraged by numbers, I find the less you worry about it the better you tend to do.

  8. Karen says:

    Oh, how I feel your pain. I have PCOS and it makes it harder to lose weight and ridiculously easy to put it on. I actually feel the hard-to-lose part is the worst, though. I see people losing 2lbs a week and the only way I can do that is by going to extreme measures. I know you’re doing WW, but have you tried playing around with the ratio of fat/carbs/protein? That can make a difference. Even if it’s a similar amount of calories, the change can affect how your body processes the calories. Also, how long since you changed your workout routine? Do you think your body may be used to it and need to up the ante?

    Just a few thoughts – I’m sure you’ll figure it out. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

