Anger Management

It’s been a rough couple of weeks here at the Boughner house. Either my husband or I has been sick in bed for at least five of the last 14 days. This makes it really hard to make sure the kid is taken care of and the house is in decent shape. With both of us sick I ended up doing groceries on Monday night because I didn’t want to wake up again on Tuesday morning and be struggling to find good snacks for my daughter.

Usually we do okay around here and when things implode I get frustrated and angry. When my daughter decides to fight me on everything I say or do I get frustrated and angry.

When I get frustrated and angry I want chocolate.

I know myself well enough that I know I use food for my emotions. It’s pretty obvious and I’m pretty good at analyzing myself.

But last week?

Last week there was one day when the kid was doing her thing and I’d had a bad day and things were out of control and I texted my husband and told him that I would need time when he got home.

And then I went and changed into some workout clothes.

As soon as Joe walked in the door, I went downstairs and pounded out my feelings on the treadmill. When dinner was cooked I was covered in sweat and feeling better about everything. It’s now at a point when if I haven’t done the treadmill one day I almost don’t stop thinking about it until I get my time in.

This is a much better strategy.

Diet is my problem and I’ve got a long way to go, but I’m moving and that’s better than not moving.

 

This entry was posted in Amy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anger Management

  1. Chantal says:

    that is awesome Amy! I need to follow this advice. I have not been exercising enough and having lots of stress. Exercise really helps.

Leave a Reply

