Tracey: Been Awhile

It’s been a little while since I did any sort of “update” about how things are progressing with my journey, where I’m at physically and mentally, and where I’m going in terms of my old goals. I tend to write about a broader picture that I hope allows you all to get something from it, but maybe it’s time to let you look behind the curtain for a bit at the girl behind the posts.

I’m down almost 35 lbs since I started out in January.  I remember the days (in my 20′s!) when I could drop 15 lbs in a month! It is clearly apparent that those days are long gone. The weight loss has been slow, but steady. I’m now just over 10 lbs away from my “first” goal weight. I’ve contemplated if I’ll keep pushing to get to my “ultimate” goal weight, and I already know as I’m typing this that I will. It might take me 2 years to do so, but I’ll definitely keep plugging away.  I’m losing a pound or so every 2 weeks-ish, if that. My clothing though is now monstrously baggy, jeans are cinched with belts and sweatshirts look like sacks.  I’m ridiculously stubborn though, and I refuse to go out and buy new stuff at this point in the game. My plan is to wait til spring. Who really sees me in the winter anyways, right? Plus baggy, warm and comfy in sub-zero temps is not the worst thing that can happen.

I’ve also been lucky to have many friends and acquaintances noticing the loss now. It’s great that not only are they genuinely happy for me, but they also feel motivated themselves to get moving! If “I” can do it, they definitely can!  My daughter had a friend over last week and they were looking at old baby photos and such.  They both told me, “Wow! You are WAY smaller now!”  Ah, teen girls.  I love that I look better, don’t get me wrong, but I love even more how I FEEL.  I just feel more ME, and little by little, I’m getting back to that person from way back when.

As to exercise, I’ve pretty much narrowed my focus to running since around August, I guess.  I did the Colour Vibe 5k with my daughters, then the Army Run 5k (my first “official” run!) and have been steadily increasing my distance weekly with my awesomely motivating Running Club.  Just yesterday I completed my first ever 10k distance! I actually started tearing up once I hit the 6 miles mark and when I stepped in the house after it was done, I literally burst into tears! It was a hugely emotional moment for me. In the spring, I couldn’t run the whole 5k distance without several walk intervals. I took the summer off from running and picked it up again around the end of August. At that time, I still had to do a walk in the middle of the 5k distance for a minute or so.  By the Army Run at the end of September, I could do the 5k without walking and was pleased with my time, but a 5k is all I had envisioned me EVER being able to do and I couldn’t see pushing any further than that. Less than a month later, I’ve shaved nearly 3 minutes off of my 5k time and I’ve completed a 10k distance! CRAZY! I’ve been running several 25k weeks, total running distance! I’m going to start mixing it up with a short run, a long run and a midrange run and once winter comes, I know I’ll be on the dreadmill more than outside.

While running is awesome, I need to give my knees some rest days and I need to start doing more strength training again, so as the colder weather sets in, I’ll be back to crunches and planks and push ups galore! I’d also like to shake my tail feather more frequently! I love to dance and I have to incorporate some of that back into my life!

I’m still working on the sleep thing. Sigh. I really, really, really know how important sleep is, but it’s my nemesis. I just feel like it’s a waste of time when I could be doing a million other things like reading a great book! Let’s just call this aspect a continual “Work in Progress.”

I have my first physical with my doctor in November, so it will be interesting to see where I’m at health wise. This is a horrible admission but, I haven’t been for a physical in two years? Maybe more? She’s going to be inundated with two years worth of questions and quibbles!

Mentally my head is still very much in the game.  I know this is a lifestyle change for me, and I’m loving it! Despite my lack of doctors visits, I don’t take my health for granted, and I’m thankful each and every day that I’m healthy and able to do the things I can do. If I’m not the fastest runner,  if I can’t run the furthest distance-I don’t even really care. I’m doing my personal best, and I’m pushing myself hard. That’s all that matters for me. This is all about a balance that works best for me, individually.

There you have it, folks.  It’s a little catch up of where I’m at and my plans for where I’m going.  The road ahead looks like it might be a long one, things are moving along at a snail’s pace, but they are still going and I’m still 100% focused and committed.

This entry was posted in Tracey and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tracey: Been Awhile

  1. melgallant says:

    You’ve done so awesome on your journey, Tracey. 35 lbs lost!!! And that you’re committed to keep going rocks. I think you should treat yourself to at least one new outfit – a sweet pair of jeans and a top, whatever. Reward yourself! :)

  2. Katie Squires says:

    I think you have done incredibly well at the weight loss part, its become a lifestyle change, a healthy lifestyle for not just you but your family. What a gift to give to your young girls. I was really happy inside the day of the color run watching you with your girls, seeing how much fun they were having and how proud of you they were…they look up to you :) I’ve always been more proud of the athletic accomplishments then the weight part…so I AM BEAMING WITH PRIDE AT YOUR ACCOMPLISHMENTS! you have come so far…so far. Pretty stinking thankful to call you friend..FRIEND :)

    • Tracey says:

      :) you always make me smile Katie! One of my biggest motivations is being a role model for my girls! Thanks for reminding me yet again how important that is, but even better, that its apparent! One of the best parts of this journey has been meeting great new like minded friends who bring me so much encouragement and support! :)

  3. Conny Mc says:

    A true role model for all girls/women
    xo

  4. Getting to know you is really great Tracey. I see your quiet determination and it warms me. I have no doubt you will get to your goal. You work so hard, and I love that you share your experiences with us. And? You’re super hot!! :)

  5. Tracey says:

    Liz-You flatterer! :) Thanks for being one of the reasons I continue to be determined! Youre a great example of what hard work, determination and taking chances on new adventures can bring! Thanks for being in my corner!

Leave a Reply

