Barbara – In my house

I try not to use words like “bad” or “good” in describing foods or declare some foods off limits but I am increasingly willing to set some into the category “not in my house”. We don’t buy white bread – it’s a treat food that isn’t part of our regular eating plan. Hotdogs are also on the list but once or twice a summer, I indulge. (I know, I know!) It’s a compromise I can live with – I remove the need to exercise willpower and parentpower without establishing forbidden foods. But then I wonder if it’s a cop out.

Another thing that isn’t in my house is a Whole 30 experiment with paleolithic eating. A friend in the Losing it Facebook group invited others to start with her and I thought it would be a good experiment. Anything is possible for 3o days, right? The paleo diet a popular approach with runners but I didn’t know the specifics – in  a nutshell, you don’t eat sugars, grains (even quinoa), legumes or dairy. I understand the importance of eliminating sugar and wheat but I need quinoa. (Okay, maybe not need but I’m not quite willing to go there right now) Similarly, the idea of no legumes was hard to wrap my head around. In the end, I realize that we just don’t eat enough meat to support a switch to paleo. I can try to move that way but I’m doubtful. Or am I weak?

The paleo people did offer me a suggestion for baking sweet potatoes and having them with my breakfast. This week I’ve added half a roasted sweet potato to the scrambled eggs and diced tomatoes that have become my staple. It is so good and so filling. Yum! I’m going to read some more from paleo blogs like Nom Nom Paleo to find more good ideas.

Are there foods that aren’t allowed in your house? Have you banned anything outright? Have you made the move to paleo?

Moving it

I’m leading a pace group at the half-marathon clinic for this session. It’s harder than you’d think to keep a group of people running at a specific speed. I got in my three runs, though, and that’s good. In fact, on Sunday, I ran 20 kilometres spread out over my pace group (7), Allyson (2.5), another friend (5) and solo (5.5).

Tale of the Scale

I’m down a pound. I think the eggs, tomatoes and sweet potato are a winning combination for me.

This entry was posted in Barbara, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Barbara – In my house

  1. Tracey Ives says:

    I’m a “all things in moderation” type of gal. I won’t eliminate any food group or any food entirely, for the most part. I try to not “label” food at all, esp in front of my daughters. Hotdogs? We buy Country Naturals that have like 3 ingredients and buy them infrequently-but still, it happens and when they’re here, they’re enjoyed. I live by the 80/20 rule and hope it’s being passed down to my girls.

  2. Maranda says:

    We’re not paleo, but we are gluten free, processed food free and mostly dairy free so I have a lot in common with the paleo diet and enjoy several paleo websites and podcasts. I don’t feel I have a problem with legumes personally and don’t enjoy meat enough to eat quite that much of it. I’ve been making an effort to eat a bit more meat and larger variety of foods though, and for a former vegetarian I do pretty well :) Also I simply cannot afford to feed our family of six that much grass fed, pastured meat and it’s a PITA to come by. I do however invest in the free range omega eggs, which my kids eat a LOT of and use many of the paleo ideas for feeding them, simply because it’s whole foods based.

    I try not to use terms like ‘good’ and ‘bad’ in describing food to my kids, but definitely do get a lot of mileage out of the phrases “Mommy doesn’t buy that” or “We don’t eat that”. I hope that by saying “We don’t eat ” they accept it more as fact of life without judging other’s choices. Not to say that they never have treats, but there are definitely certain foods that we don’t eat!

  3. Maranda says:

    Also sweet potatoes for breakfast rock. If you’re in the mood for something sweeter, top a baked sweet potato with a bit butter, cinnamon and walnuts and a little sweetener of your choice (maple syrup is yum).

Leave a Reply

