Samantha – End of Summer Reset

With summer almost done I am starting to evaluate my progress over the last several weeks. I will say that I have done great with my training for the 5k and have really stayed active throughout – even on the super sweaty uber icky days. My diet however has been very sketchy, I haven’t been tracking as well as I know I should and there have been more than enough beers and BBQ’s to last me until fall. You hear it everywhere, you cannot out train a bad diet. Don’t get me wrong, I am not eating entire bags of chips or mowing down on any kind of chocolate I can get my hands on, I just know that my meals could be more balanced and the snacks I eat could be better thought out.

With just a little over a month to go before race day (yay getting excited) I have decided to get back to healthy eating basics and do a little bit of a detox of all of the not so good things I have been eating the last few weeks.

I can blame the heat for swollen fingers, or that time of month for the slight gain on the scale but ultimately those are just excuses I am using to try and justify why the scale has tipped up a little more or why it hasn’t budged as much as I wanted it to.

I was having a bit of a struggle with this over the weekend, feeling like I had been slipping back into old habits a little more again and wondering if I am going to really be able to make this lifestyle change stick. I think I need to focus on the day to day again, stop focusing on the big picture and break it down into daily doses. Somehow it doesn’t seem so daunting to me by doing it that way.

This always seems to happen to me at some point when I make the big move to eat and live healthier – where I have stalled progress because I am becoming more lackadaisical in my eating habits. Sometimes I feel like I am in a lose lose situation. When I am on point and kicking ass I am told I am too “intense” or “obsessive” about it, however when I loosen up a little bit I feel like I am back sliding. This is still the part for me that is the most challenging. Maybe I should just ignore the “helpful advice” from those around me who don’t really understand the changes that I am making in my life. Who would have ever thought that making the choice to be healthier, involved so many people and that everyone had an opinion about the way you were going about things.

I try not to get to annoyed about stuff like that, and my mini rant is over….for now. So with a deep breath and a long exhale I will lace up my shoes on Monday evening and go for a jog/walk.  I will eat clean and track everything I consume so I can’t hide from myself and focus on the choices that I need to make for that day only. I will focus on the choices that I need to make today to make me proud of myself at the end of the day.

 

About Samantha R

Taking control of my life one healthy choice at a time!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Samantha – End of Summer Reset

  1. John says:

    Good luck, you’ll be fine. Just concentrate on your own race and ignore the people that run past you. I saw loads of people go past me on a 10K, especially at the start. Five minutes down the road and they were all walking. :)

Leave a Reply

