Melodie – A Major Setback

I’ve been enjoying my roller derby training more than anything in a long time – certainly
more than any other form of exercise I’ve done. I’ve been improving and it’s been an empowering experience. Until the Tuesday before last, when, in the last five minutes of practice, I broke my ankle. I was doing a drill and heard the bones crack as I fell. Hearing your own bones crack is a terrifying experience which I hope none of you ever have.

I’d never broken anything before. The league girls helped me to the hospital, helped keep me calm, and stayed with me until my boyfriend arrived. By the time he got there I was riding high on the happy pills and feeling much better. They did an x-ray and informed me that I’d broken two bones, one in several places (my tibia). It was a very long night. They set the leg poorly the first time and had to pull the cast off and re-do it, and then after a long night sent me home on crutches with lots of drugs and the promise of surgery.

I had surgery two days ago. The pain increased after surgery and they also reduced my drugs, I gather because there is no way to completely take away that pain with drugs and because now that the bones are fixed in place, the healing should start and therefore the pain should be much less soon. In the meantime I’m home in a lot of pain.

The accident means no exercise for awhile (maybe once the leg is feeling better I can at least do some ab and upper body exercises.) It has also meant not much inclination to diet. I am starting however to feel inspired to eat well simply because I want my leg to have lots of good nutrition to rebuild with. My boyfriend swung by Market Organics and got me a special bone-health specific multivitamin, as I want to make sure I’m not deficient in any of the vitamins and minerals needed to heal these bones and heal them strong! I also got a bunch of frozen fruit, spinach, yogurt, fibre powder, and cacao nibs to make some good smoothies – apparently it’s good to stock up on antioxidants for a broken bone, fibre is important especially when you’re not exercising enough and taking narcotics, and the word of the day is of course calcium! I’ve been looking up foods for bone health and besides the definite need for vitamins and minerals, it’s really just eating healthy – fish, nuts, beans, good protein, leafy greans, fruits (particularly berries and oranges) – it’s a time for eating plenty of nutrient-dense foods. Also I’m drinking tons of water (which isn’t hard, I’m thirsty all the time) although it does make me have to pee a lot, and getting up to go to the bathroom is really painful as it causes all the blood to rush to my foot.

Anyway, hoping for some quick healing. I’m on crutches and no walking allowed for at least six weeks, then I will be starting physio and hopefully will start to get this ankle strong again. I’m going to continue to volunteer in my derby league as soon as I’m able to walk again, to stay connected, and hopefully it won’t be too long before I can try strapping  on my skates again!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Melodie – A Major Setback

  1. Lara says:

    Ack! Derby really IS dangerous eh? Heal
    Up fast!

  2. Tracey says:

    Wow! What an AWESOME attitude during a yucky time! Wanting to volunteer, and gt back out on skates? Says something about who you are as a person!

  3. John says:

    That’s tough. I broke my ankle last year, when I got back from hospital my race number was waiting for my 10k, I was not a happy bunny! All I can say is get well soon and listen to your physios advice.

  4. Pingback: » Tuesday Tidbits: Oz Roller Girls

  5. wordywort says:

    What a great outlook, Melodie. I’m glad you are taking such good care of yourself, and let the LIO community know if we can help!

Leave a Reply

