Melodie – Old goals, new goals

This summer has been a good time for me – eating well, lots of exercise, and just being in a good place mentally.

It would be easy to sit back on the achievements of this summer – getting started in a fitness program I like (derby training), losing 18 lbs, and get complacent. I still have a long way to go though, to get where I want to be. If I count my weight loss from my highest point to where I am now, I have lost a little over 30 lbs. That is around what I still have to lose – so I am about halfway in my weight loss journey. It has also taken me about three years to get here – three years of ups and downs, achievements and relapses.

I really don’t want to take 3 years to lose the next 30 pounds – and what’s more, I really want to be done with the relapses. Not just for the sake of my weight, but for my health and happiness, I don’t like the cycle of feast and famine, being in control and then out of control.

Eating well and being consistent about my health is about more than just physical well-being. It helps me to be grounded, productive and creative. I feel like when I take care of myself physically, my goals get bigger. I actually do stuff, instead of just “meaning” to do it. This year I took an art class and started learning a sport, and took on a volunteer position. I have also gotten started on writing my Master’s degree application, which is due in January. I’m ready for some changes to happen, and taking care of myself is important to get there.

I’m also so over feeling fat. I’m started to reap some of the rewards of weight loss this summer – smaller jeans, people noticing, having more spring in my step – and I’ve just had enough of being overweight and out of shape. This summer I’ve been noticing myself feeling lighter, jumping around with my little cousins, getting crazy – man, being fat has really been sapping my inner child. I’m ready to unleash it!

Half the battle for me is being in the right mental space. The other half is translating that into a good diet. I have been letting my diet get off the rails a bit in the past couple weeks, what with a camping trip and holidays. I gained back a pound but that is not too much and now I am back to my normal food routine, so it shouldn’t take long for me to start losing again.

I have cut the amount of weight I have to lose in half. My new goal is to do that again, 15 lbs by New Year’s. It’s completely achievable, and I want to put it in writing here so that I will have some accountability.

PS: I am talking a lot more about the mental stuff around losing weight because I think it’s more interesting – but if you’re interested in the actual food changes I have made that are working for me I’m happy to talk about that too. I don’t think there’s any single “right” way (although there are wrong ways!) to lose weight, but I like my method best. My diet has mostly been developed from these awesome books: “Real Food” by Nina Planck, and “In Defense of Food: An Eater’s Manifesto” by Michael Pollan.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Melodie – Old goals, new goals

  1. Jay says:

    It’s so true!”… man, being fat has really been sapping my inner child” I love that you’ve found something you love (Derby) – it makes such a big difference.

    I’m struggling through In Defense of Food – please tell me it gets better? I’m only 50pgs in, but ready to give up on it.

  2. Melodie says:

    hmmm well I liked it from the beginning, but I read The Omnivore’s Dilemma first. That one is much more scientific and informative, whereas In Defense of Food is more like a summary based on the findings of The Omnivore’s Dilemma. So you might like that one better.

  3. Lara says:

    I’m making derby my goal for this fall – I think it will be exercise I can want to do, and getting fit enough to do derby is part of be challenge, right? Yay to being halfway there and yay to an achievable goal for the next few months!

  4. Tracey says:

    LOVE this post! I totally agree with the goals getting bigger, and having more energy to tackle more “stuff.” Awesome!

Leave a Reply

