Cindy – Slow and Steady

I hurt myself somehow.  As opposed to an injury which would require medical attention, this was merely just me hurting myself somehow.  Anyway, it means I’ve had to slow down – which, if you talk to my mother, is not something that I do too well.  I will do most of my work or activities quickly so that I can move on to more enjoyable past times, like reading a book.

This hurt that I somehow managed to inflict on my left knee has made me slow down.  Where once I was doing 30 minutes on the treadmill at 2.5 mph, I can now only do 30 minutes at 1.7mph without feeling like my left knee is going to pop off.  I’m working back up to it though.  I’m also challenging myself by boosting the incline of the treadmill.  I’m slowing down and doing gentle body weight squats to rebuild the muscle around my knees so that this doesn’t happen again and I’m working on proper form for my lifts, both barbell and dumbbell. 

I’ve also slowed down in the pool.  This has allowed me to work on my breast stroke form, my backstroke and freestyle (front crawl).  Front crawl has never been my strong point, but taking it slow, learning the breathing correctly, learning the arms correctly, I might actually be able to start kicking the next time I hit the pool.

Food wise, well, the dreaded Ice Cream Monster has reappeared in my house.  Which isn’t too bad, too much ice cream gives me a brain freeze anyway.  I’ve been very good about not giving myself huge portions by having the ice cream with my morning waffle.  This way, I take less than a serving and I get my ice cream fix for the day.  The Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Monster also makes frequent appearances, don’t worry about that.  It just doesn’t seem to stick around as long as the Ice Cream Monster, maybe because we eat the vegetables faster.  The upside of this, is knowing that we’re eating our veggies.  The downside of this is making those trips for veggies two times a week.

I’ve been thinking about different types of diets lately.  There are good points and bad points to all of them.  I just don’t feel like they’d work for me.  For one thing, I have two other people who would be eating the same food.  One of which is a 2 ½ year old who is not always adventurous with food.  Depriving myself of all carbs – bread, chips, crackers – would mean I wouldn’t want them in the house so they would not be a temptation.  Do I really want to deprive my son of his penguin crackers? 

Did you notice I used the word deprive?  I couldn’t think of another word for it.  So in my mind, I’m not ready to make the diet switch.  Again, Slow and Steady.  Limit is the word I will be trying to include in my vocabulary.  Limit the amount of bad carbs, don’t have cookies in the house, and if they are there, LIMIT the number that I eat. 

And just because I’m not following a certain diet plan, doesn’t mean I can’t use the recipes as inspiration.  Or dinner.

Slow and Steady.  Once change at a time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cindy – Slow and Steady

  1. Barbara says:

    I love your attitude. I want fast results – it’s part of a black-and-white thinking habit that I’m trying to break. But you’re right that slow and steady is better. Also, you’re taking advantage of an injury to improve another part of your body. That’s brilliant. And mature ;) I could never do South Beach full time but it has a mix of ricotta, nut butter & sweetener that kicks butt as a dessert. There is always something new to try.

Leave a Reply

