Samantha – 5% Weight Loss Goal = Shiny New Headband

FINALLY!

On June 30th this gal reached her first weight loss goal! It took me 21 weeks to lose 14.5lbs and reach my 5% loss goal with Weight Watchers. My 5% was actaully only 14lbs, so YAY for the extra .5!!!  It might have been the most exciting moment so far in this journey – it has given me such a needed boost and reassured me that while it might be a bumpy road, the changes I am making ARE making a difference.

Being as psyched as I was I wanted to celebrate, do something for me that reinfocred all of my hard work. Usually my celebrations revolve around food.  Well that would be counter productive wouldn’t it? Yay 14lbs off, lets go get ice cream! While ice cream is yummy and of course I still have it every now and then, I didn’t want to reward myself with food. I also didn’t want to go overboard and blow a whole chunk of change on a new outfit.  So I got myself a fancy Lulu headband to keep my hair under control during sweatfests. The bobby pins and plastic headbans hurt my noggin and get tangled up fast.

That thick band reminded me of my sucess during each workout and I swear I pushed harder than I ever had  – maybe it was all in my head but who cares! I felt great after all my workouts even in the gross sticky heat. WOOT!

My walking/jogging has also been getting better.  I stayed at week two for an extra week because I felt like I needed it.  I was having a hard time with the one minute interval at times. This past week I bumped it up from 1 minute to 1 minute and 30 seconds. I feel better after every time I head out, stronger and fitter!

This milestone has given me the push I needed, the boost in my determination and drive to reach my next goal  of 10% (28lbs)!! WOOT :D

About Samantha R

Taking control of my life one healthy choice at a time!
This entry was posted in Samantha. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Samantha – 5% Weight Loss Goal = Shiny New Headband

  1. Congrats!! What a wonderful accomplishment and way to celebrate!

  2. Shona says:

    Go Samantha! You are doing awesome! That headband is the perfect reward!

  3. Caroline says:

    These are the best treats ever! I always give myself a little something after a milestone, or a workout where I feel I pushed myself. I recently added a handheld FuelBelt water bottle. My “first” reward was a SPI Belt, after completing ten “runs”. Once I complete the Army Run 5k, I am buying myself a Reflective jacket. That is my reward for achieving my goal.

    Keep it up! Congrats on the weight loss!

  4. Tracey says:

    Awesome job at meeting your goals-and i love the little rewards too! Keep going!

  5. Katie Squires says:

    YAHOOOOO :) you look so amazing in that picture,happy, healthy, fit, damn right glowing! (or is that sweat?) But then again SWEAT is GLITTER :)

  6. Pingback: Project Blissful » Blogging and Buddies=Weight Loss Guaranteed!

Leave a Reply

