Samantha – Sweatfest Summer 2012

I am never one to complain about the heat or the humidty. I love love love love summer and never wish the warm days away because we never have a long enough summer in my opinion. That being said, last week was HOT – walk outside take your breath away sweating after walking 10 feet hot. That was also the week that I decided I was going to stop running on the treadmil and take to the roads for my training. Good timing ;)

I knew there was no chance in heck that I was going to lace up my sneakers after work and hit the pavement when it was that hot so I opted for the morning instead. Im used to getting up early so it wasnt that big of a deal. What was a big deal was doing my walking/jogging intervals at 5 am and the temp being above 20 with the humedex on the rise. Holy cow. The first morning I was out in it I was drenched by the second jogging interval and had downed my bottle of water before the half way point.  (On a side note, guzzling water equals stomach craps equals lesson learned.) I was hoping that as the week went on that it wouldn’t be so hard, but I was wrong. I have always done my workouts indoors.  I’ve never been to one of those fun looking bootcamps or ever jogged outside before last week so it was a bit of a rude awakening and a lot more challanging than I thought it was going to be. I did manage to get 3 morning walk/jogs in and then my usual fitness routine of classes at the gym and Yoga so that made me a happy girl.

My first week I walked 1 min and jogged 45 seconds and on week 2 (hot as heck week) I aimed for walking 1 min and jogging 1 min….somtimes I had a hard time making it to the one minute mark so I think that this week I am going to repeat the 1 min walk and 1 min jog until I can get through all my intervals properly.

There were a few times during the last couple of weeks that self doubt crept in and I wondered if it was such a good idea to sign up for the 5K. I went back and read all of the amazingly positive feedback from the post that I wrote about signing up and it really helped boost me. I love having the support and encouragement from my friends, family and fellow bloggers especially when starting something new (like jogging) and setting my sights on a new fitness goal. It helped me through the first two weeks and I know it is going to help me stay movitvated through the rest of this endevour as well.

I’m looking forward to getting out again this week and with lower temps for the week ahead hopefully I wont be such a hot mess 3 minutes into my walk/jog. Any suggestions on dealing with the heat while working out outside are greatly appreaciated!! Love having feed back from you all.

 

About Samantha R

Taking control of my life one healthy choice at a time!
This entry was posted in Samantha and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Samantha – Sweatfest Summer 2012

  1. Barbara says:

    Yay, for getting out there. I retreated to the elliptical or 2 “runs” because of the heat and did a third outside only because it was a race. You can totally finish a 5 k. Don’t worry about how much you’ll walk. Focus on that how ever much you run, that’ll be a great accomplishment. As for not being a hot, sweaty mess, I have to tell you that I’ve been running for a couple of years and I’m always hot & sweaty. Sweat is liquid strength!

  2. Samantha R says:

    Liquid strength!!! LOL love that! :)

  3. wordywort says:

    I love summer too, and grew up down south, but I’ve been disappointed to learn more about how heat affects running performance. Great motivation to do it early in the morning! Seems very smart to me too to repeat your 1 min intervals – if you’re always solid when you add on you’ll have a good foundation. Good for you!

  4. Shona says:

    First thing: you ran in that heat!? Wow. I think a lot of people wouldn’t have gone outside at all (I didn’t). This shows how strong your will and determination are. Second thing: you can totally do that 5k. I bet you find it WAY easier this week with the better temperatures!

  5. Tracey says:

    I agree with Shona-im not a heat girl AT ALL. Give me Fall any day! I think its ommendable you got out there-and i agree with repeating your intervals. Sounds like a solid plan-and you can TOTALLY do this with that attitude!

  6. When I ran in race weekend in may they passed out wet sponges…and I put it on my back under my tank top/bra strap…then would give it a squeeze every now and again…and cool wet water would run down my back totally refreshing me…it felt amazing…maybe try that on a hot day..I know I am…don’t care if I look silly :)

  7. ps. recently read that it takes about 5 runs in the heat to become used to it, your body will LEARN how to deal with the heat adjusting your sweat etc…it will get easier :) GO SAMANTHA GO :)

Leave a Reply

