Jenn – Getting Back on a Healthy Track

It’s been about a week and a half since my wedding weekend where I basically ate and drank my face off (nerves, what nerves…). I ate all day long the day of the wedding and of course, I don’t regret a single bite It’s one day, the “most important day in a girls life”, but, even still, after about a week and a half off celebrating, I’m ready to get back on track with my healthy eating habits.

I’ve written about this topic before, but it never hurts to have a bit of a refresher course especially when it comes to getting back on the fitness wagon!

Here’s how I get back on track:

The past is just that, the past.
Instead of worrying and stressing about all the eating mistakes I made in the last week and a half, I’m focusing on today and the future.
For me, a BIG thing to remember is that any weight that I gained in the last week and a half is not permanent. With some hard work, restraint and self-discipline, I know the weight will come off.

Make a strategy
Making a strategy in regards to healthy eating and a fitness routine makes me feel in control and less stressed. I start by scheduling my workouts in my calendar on my smart phone. If I treat it as an appointment I can’t miss (like a dentist appointment) I will be more likely to stick with it. I’ll usually do a couple of yoga sessions mixed with some running. Another great strategy? Checking out nutritious recipes for snacks and meals online. It really boosts my motivation to get (and stay) on track.

Read health magazines and blogs for inspiration.
When I just want to sit on the couch instead of heading out for a run, I pick up one of my favourite magazines (Runner’s World for example) or read some of my favorite healthy living blogs for inspiration. I can almost always be guaranteed to find a great recipe, new workout, or some words of inspiration that make me want to get up and get out there!
I find it a great motivation to see other people out there being fit , active and healthy.

Don’t wait!!
Don’t wait until Monday morning, start NOW!!!  Instead of waiting to eat healthy or exercise, make the changes right away. I put my runners on for a workout and plan my next snack or meal to include lots of fresh produce, healthy fats, and lean protein. There is no point putting off to tomorrow what you can start right now!

Patience is a virtue
Weight loss (and maintenance) includes lots of ups and downs, and it can be very easy to let successes fall by the wayside. I focus on all my healthy achievements (recently running a marathon, for one) instead of obsessively hopping on and off the scale.

So now I’m back on track this week and back to counting my food points and fitness points. I’m also tracking my water intake and I’ve also started kickboxing twice weekly along with my (almost daily) running. 

I hope you all have a great fitness filled week!

This entry was posted in Jenn and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jenn – Getting Back on a Healthy Track

  1. So, it’s 4:00 am and I can’t sleep. I’ve got time to tell myself what bad food decisions that I’ve been making are and I haven’t exercised since my half-marathon (except for a painful 1km run that convinced me that my adductor was still not ready). I came to Losing It for inspiration and here you are with wise words to share. THANKS! I needed to read this.

  2. Fiona says:

    This is wonderful advice! All the strategies you listed for getting back on track are proven winners so you’ll be successful. And congrats on your wedding.

Leave a Reply

