5k and sleep!

Today, I am going to start with a not-so original-topic: the Ottawa race Weekend. Last Saturday, I completed my second 5k race along with three friends and my sore neck (Google translate tells my I can uns torticoli in English, can I?). The neck pain was … well when I ran, whenver I would put my left foot down, it felt like a lightning in my neck. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the race and the energy and I can’t wait to do it again, hopefully faster since I ran my 5k in 50 minutes.

My next goal is to be able to run an entire 5k without having to walk. In order to do so, I am planing on running 3 times a week. My next race is on June 17th in Buchighnam (Gatineau) and I will also participate to a 5k in Gatineau on July 7th.

Meanwhile, I wanted to share with you the fact that I am sleeping much better now thanks to a new mask I am trying in order to actually use the CPAP that I have to control my sleep apnea. that thing is’nt sexy but so far, it’s working and I have much more energy. Enough energy actually that I have been getting up early in the morning in order to bike to work or go for a swim a few times in the past two weeks. Needless to say that exercise also generates energy so I feel a lot better.

I had a question for you: in the summer, do you prefer to run inide or outside? I have a feeling the heat will be an issue and getting up at 6 AM might be ont too… I don’t know if I should get a gym membership or not.

About uppercasek

I am a 26 years old special education teacher and graduate student and a bit of a geek. I like a good conversation, cheesy television shows, scrapbooking and Scrabble. Born and raised near Quebec City, I learned English through travelling and reading academic literature. As this is my first attempt to blog, I am looking forward to share my journey to a healthy mind in a healthy body with all (or even only one!) of you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 5k and sleep!

  1. Katie Squires says:

    I AM SO PROUD OF YOU!!!! I am doing the TRIPLE ARM PUMP and my flags are waving!!!! I love running in the summer…but yes the heat and humidity is no fun so I go early or late…I love a an evening run…the night air is the summer is so sweet!

  2. Caroline says:

    Congratulations! Keep that momentum! When Iw as a runner waaay back, I preferred running outside, since there were no gyms near me. Heat or no, I was out there (I was crazy!). Now that I am a 30-something mom of two with some extra weight, I plan on running outside when it is cooler, sticking to cooler times of day, so that I don’t end up fainting or over exerting (until I am in better shape). Once winter hits, I will get a gym membership and run inside. If I hate it, I’m going to just refocus on doing some toning, strengthening, and buffing until Spring hits again!

  3. Tracey says:

    Great job running the 5k-even with horrible neck pain! That’s a feat in itself! For me personally, I HATE the heat. If it’s really hot or humid-I’m indoors on the treadmill. :)

Leave a Reply

