Jenn – One Down ….

As of last Sunday I was able to cross a major goal off my list, running a marathon before I got married.

If I had waited until after this coming Saturday, that would have been something I would’ve never been able to cross off.

Why? Because this Saturday I am getting married.

I will save you the long recap and just say the marathon was unbelievable, the spectators, the challenge (both mentally and physically) all the training and preparation.

It has only wet my appetite for more marathons.

I used to say half marathons were my favourite distance, but now I’m not too sure. Full marathons may have taken their place.

I have already signed up for the Toronto Waterfront Marathon in October.

Running a marathon is HUGE, don’t get me wrong, but this Saturday is also a BIG day and whole lot of preparation has gone into this day too.

When most people found out I was training for a marathon, that I was going to run the week before getting married I would have to pick their jaws up off the floor. But training while planning a wedding has helped me cope with the stress that goes along with planning a once in a life time event.

There were days when I would get off the phone or computer and head either outside or downstairs to the treadmill and run a good 4 or 5 miles just to burn off frustration or stress.

Being able to coordinate the running with a marathon training program was an added bonus.

Now with the marathon over and only 3 days to go until the wedding, there is not much I can do but wait.

Wait until Saturday and wait until the next half or (preferably) full marathon.

Throughout my training I pretty much stuck to using the WW points plus system and for the most part did not go hungry and maintained my weight, if not lost a little. I stayed hydrated, ate my daily points and also tracked and ate my activity points. I plan on continuing with this plan for the time being.

Since I’m no longer currently training for a marathon I might not consume all my activity points, but I am starting kickboxing next week and do plan on starting up another marathon training program soon, so we will see how my energy levels and hunger are and I will adjust from there.

What does this say for my little WW experiment?

Well, I think it demonstrates that if you stick with a program and us it properly (eating “square” meals, not just filling up on zero point veggies and fruit, and learning your “hunger signals so to not eat out of boredom) than it can be beneficial.

Again though, not everything works for everybody and you need to find what works for you.

One of the biggest things I will take away from my first marathon training experience is that you get out what you put in. Just because you ran 20 or 30km dose not give you an excuse to refuel yourself with junk food. Fuel yourself well and you will get it back in your performance tenfold.

Thanks to all of you for the positive thoughts and well wishes on race day!
They really carried me through. It was very inspiring.

Hope you all are having a lovely week.
Next time you hear from me I will be a Mrs. no long a Miss. ;)

This entry was posted in Jenn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jenn – One Down ….

  1. Tracey says:

    Congrats on the marathon, AND on the nuptials! Marriage itself is a type of marathon! :) I can’t wait to see what’s up next for you!

  2. Finola says:

    Congratulations on both! How wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

