The Long Term, The Short Term, and Now

Health, I’m realizing, is likely often a “hindsight is 20/20″ situation for many people. I’ve been in my head a lot lately, trying to figure out where things stand for me with diet and lifestyle, largely so busy and dealing with everything else, I was getting nowhere.

Enter my Dad to put things into focus pretty quickly. He just went through angioplasty to insert THREE stints into his arteries to open them up. This? Was very unexpected. You see…my parents eat almost exclusively home made food. They play tennis, my dad plays softball, and they rarely relax most days. He looks good, he’s vibrant, and he’s only in his mid-60’s. And now? He’s had a mild stroke, and now this. They said his arteries were 95% blocked. He was about to have a massive heart attack. Seriously.

So. Where do I stand? Well, I no longer think that I can keep putting off my health and activity level until ‘my time clears up’, that’s for sure. I’m realizing that health should NEVER be taken for granted. I’m thinking….my stomach is a prime breeding ground for major health issues down the road, and if not addressed, maybe not that FAR down the road either.

And I’m also thinking…this stuff is hereditary.

So. Long term, my health will be influenced by what I do now, and in the short term. Full stop and no excuses. There’s no avoiding this. It just is.

I got a Bosu Ball for Mother’s Day. As soon as this stooooopid cast is off my arm, I’m using it.

Have you had any wake-up calls lately? Where does your head go when you start to think about your health now, in the short term, and in the future?

About paminottawa

Mom of twin toddlers, social media strategy gal, public servant, athlete when there's time, amateur sommelier and lover of food...passionate about life.
This entry was posted in Paminottawa and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Long Term, The Short Term, and Now

  1. Tracey says:

    I hear ya on this! My family have genetic closing of the arteries-resulting in most family members dying of heart attacks. I probably can’t sidestep a genetic condition if it’s headed my way-but I CAN be in the best health possible, for me, to be able to fight!

  2. wordywort says:

    Yep. Finding out my grandmother’s age when she died of a heart attack was the final straw for me. She was 42.

Leave a Reply

