Samantha – Finding my stride

I have wanted to get back to my routine of working out in the morning. I always find that I have more energy and feel better throughout the day and generally make healthier choices. I love going to an intense morning class and feeling that high until at least early afternoon. So over the week  I have been attending more morning workouts – this means getting up at 5 am to make the class for 6 am. Now I should mention that I am usually an early riser and don’t mind being up early, however I am finding it harder and harder to get up for the workouts – granted it is only been a week and a bit but I thought it would get easier!? I have been going to bed early enough to make sure I am getting my 8hrs of sleep but by the end of the week I am really dragging myself out of bed. This is something I think I might be trying to manage for a little while so hopefully I can get the hang of it so I don’t feel like a zombie come Friday morning.

In addition to the early morning workouts I am also shooting for 2hrs of fitness a day. Usually it’s an intense workout in the morning and then a more moderate one after work, sometimes if I am really looking for a challenge I hit up two intense workouts. I have never felt better, stronger or as on top of my fitness game as I have been this past week, and it is this momentum that is going to propel me forward into the summer months (aka, beer drinking, lake swimming lazy summer months). I’m looking for a way to beat the end of the week sluggishness in the mornings to ensure that I stay as on track as possible.

I’ve joined the Weight Watchers Walk It Challenge that is going to be taking place on June 3rd and am really looking forward to getting out and active with my fellow meeting members. So I am keeping my fingers crossed for a sunny Sunday that day J I also met a friend of a friend who is on the program over the weekend, who is loving it and having a lot of success on the program. YAY! Another member for the support system!

I have started journaling more too and I feel like that has been helping me. It’s allowed me to really reflect on my feelings and get some of the pent up stuff out, such as stress or frustration without heading to the fridge. Sometimes I feel a little foolish venting to the pages of my ratty note book, but it is infinitely better than binging because of a crappy day at work.  

The nutrition front has also been better over the last week. I realized that my fruit cap for the day is 2, that I need more veggies than fruit as there isn’t as much sugar in veggies. It’s amazing what tracking can do for you. I realized how many fruits I was eating (sometimes 6 a day!!! and not enough veggies) and on the fruity weeks I didn’t see much of a move on the scale. This week I am going to stick to the 2 fruits a day and strive for 8 serving of veggies and see if that is a better formula for me.

Tale of the scale

Since starting WW mid February I have lost a total of 10.5lbs and a total of 16 inches from my bust, thighs, hips, waist and arm combined. I am feeling less bumpy and starting to see some definition in my arms and legs. LOVE seeing that and feeling more confident in my ability to get to where I want to be!

About Samantha R

Taking control of my life one healthy choice at a time!
This entry was posted in Samantha. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Samantha – Finding my stride

  1. Katie Squires says:

    Congrats! your doing great!

  2. shonaturner says:

    Excellent work! Way to go!!

  3. Tracey Ives says:

    Wow! Sounds like you’re doing great on all fronts! You have plans (the walk, the workouts) and goals all set! Keep it up!

  4. Barbara says:

    Fruit is a “better” choice but veggies are the “best” choice. It’s neat when our journaling helps us make a discovery about ourselves.

    Hooray for all of those inches gone!

Leave a Reply

