Wordywort – Gaining experience

I have really been on a roll with exercise the past couple of weeks, by my standards, anyway. In one week, I had six workouts: two runs, two DVD workouts, and two hour-long walks. I’m only counting walks these days if they are at least an hour. So this is real progress, versus the old me, who was lucky to get in a 20- or 30-minute walk with the dog.

I’m still trying to run once a week, but the DVDs have kind of opened a whole new world to me – when was the last time I did a jumping jack!? It’s fun to move, especially now that my body is somewhat fit, thanks to the running. So last week, when the city of Ottawa had free classes at area rec centres, I could not say no. I attended my first aquafit class in years – that is an activity I really enjoy, but one with a high pain in the ass factor (driving, changing, showering, the whole locker room thing, etc.). I also attended my first ever Zumba class. I knew that it was supposed to be “inspired” by Latin dance, but I had no idea that I would actually be dancing – this is how ignorant I am about these things. Mind you, it wasn’t graceful, but it was a good workout, and it was fun. I really liked the instructor because she led the Zumba class like she was there for a workout, not for a dance performance. In fact, it was so cloudy and rainy outside yesterday that I knew exactly how I was going to brighten things up: Zumba! So I went back for the second time. Who knows, I may even become a regular.
 
Exercising regularly and trying new things has left me feeling like a fitness superstar. Meanwhile, I have somehow managed to gain three pounds. So I started tracking my food again, and I am really not eating badly. Part of me thinks it’s the low battery on the scale. Part of me thinks it could be muscle, but at some point that excuse is going to fall flat – you can’t gain “muscle” indefinitely. Part of me thinks I am never going to get past 174 – this has been my weight for pretty much my entire adult life, since 1990 if not prior to that. Part of me thinks I need to do what my doctor suggested and start some strength training, but I am just not quite there yet. Part of me doesn’t even really care – I am just about maxed out on self-discipline right now, between my work and making time for exercise. I am not going to starve myself or go hungry after a workout. And I am feeling generally good about myself. We’ll see what I’m weighing – and how I’m feeling – two weeks from now. 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wordywort – Gaining experience

  1. moosilaneous says:

    You ARE a fitness superstar.
    I went to Zumba Tuesday night, despite having pretty much not moved after pulling a muscle on Saturday, where I felt even dorkier than ever (I couldn’t get any kind of rhythm!), but, I had a GAS! When else are workouts actually fun? Sure, you feel great when they’re done, but fun while you’re doing them? (I’ve only ever liked bicycling or walking before, because you get places and see things.) Still, I wouldn’t have gone on Tuesday if I didn’t have a friend going with me. I SO admire you for getting out there.
    Plateauing in your weight sucks, but it too shall pass. You know from experience that something will change. Keep up the good work, you are inspiring people here!

  2. Tracey Ives says:

    Love that you’re getting out there trying new things-and ENJOYING it! My Zumba always says exactly what you said-Zumba is a workout, not a dance class-so definitely look at it that way! Do you food journal? I wrote a post on how it helps in more ways than calorie counting, and My FitnessPal is free, and a lot of us are on there as well-supporting and encouraging. Keep up the hard work!

  3. Sasha says:

    You ARE a superstar! WOW! And yes, you’re right, you can’t ‘gain muscle’ indefinitely, but I keep hearing so much about the relationship between strength training and weight loss that I can’t help but think there must be something to it….

Leave a Reply

