Of Wine and Women

I turned 40 three days ago. I’d say ‘enough said’, but really, I volunteered to actually WRITE posts, so I guess that won’t cut it, eh?

So yes, I turned 40. I had an AMAZING evening with wonderful long-standing girlfriends and my husband surprised me by making, from scratch and on his own, a 5-course spread for all 7 of us. The menu?

Round 1: Baked brie with a mango jalapeno jelly and toasts and panko-crusted chicken lollipops with a sweet and spicy ginger dipping sauce (Wine pairing: A lovely Gewurztraminer)

Round 2: A lovely spring salad tossed in an avocado dressing (Wine pairing: Ironstone’s Symphony – one of our faves when we can find it)

Round 3: A baked garlic and onion cream soup – yup, cream – paired with an amazing oaked Chardonnay from Closson Chase in PEC/Niagara

Round 4: Prosciutto-wrapped beef tenderloin w red wine reduction, sweet potato chipotle gratin (OMG good) and fresh green beans (Paired with aussie GSMs from Torbreck and then Two Hands – our favourite brand)

Round 5: White chocolate and fresh berry crème brulee (yup, seriously). On hand if we wanted was a chocolate-infused ice wine we’ve had in the cellar for a while, but we were very much into our red wine at that point, so we let that one go.

TOTALLY WORTH EVERY CALORIE. So many laughs. So many memories. Such wonderful friends. Such an amazing husband.

I could totally make this post about the saga of my broken arm, about broken plans to be in great shape by 40, or about how I sometimes feel about myself these days, but you know what? My life is AH. MAZING. and if I went through the laundry list of things I wanted to accomplish in my life by the time I was 40, I think almost everything would have a checkmark beside it.

At 40, I pretty much have it all

Nothing wrong with that.

About paminottawa

Mom of twin toddlers, social media strategy gal, public servant, athlete when there's time, amateur sommelier and lover of food...passionate about life.
This entry was posted in Paminottawa and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Of Wine and Women

  1. Katie Squires says:

    OMG my mouth is watering!! your hubs ROCKS! What a wonderful bday pressie!

Leave a Reply

