Cindy – Measuring Progress

As I mentioned in my last post, I’ve been doing a LOT of swimming.  Even managed to do 600m on day (went home and had a 2 hour nap after, but that’s not the point!).  With all that swimming, which I consider a whole body exercise, I wondered how my body would do with weights.  So I took the week off from swimming and went back to weights.

Things I noticed:

  • Leg Muscles – can’t say I’ve noticed much about my legs except that my exercise shorts are now loose around the thigh.
  • my back and shoulders are stronger.  Using the machines I can now do lat pull downs over 100lbs and a Shoulder Press of 55lbs.  I even did a back extension in excess of 130lbs – the maximum the machine had – and I felt I could do more.
  • My chest muscles are stronger – I did an incline chest press of 70lbs – the total weight of an Adult Male Chinese Shar Pei.  I basically bench pressed my dog.
  • when I flex my bicep, I now feel a muscle.  I’m kind of proud of that.  I still have flab under my arm (the chicken wing is what we called it), but there is less of it.

Hold the presses!  I have found my measurements from last year!  This is going to be fun!

Wait a minute while I take my measurements………

GASP!

OK, I gained on my neck, my arm and my calf.  Not sure if that’s a good thing. Does anyone know?

I LOST – and I will say LOST because I have NO idea where it went:

  • 2.5 INCHES (that’s two point five) at my chest (along the bra band line)
  • 3 INCHES at my bottom rib
  • 4 INCHES at my thigh.  Guess that’s why the shorts are loose eh?

That’s in the last year.  Now that I’ve found my measurements though, I’ll be doing this with a bit more regularity.  Not weekly/bi-weekly like my weigh in, but maybe monthly.  Oh, and I’ll definitely keep up with the swimming.

How do you measure your progress?  What do you find works for you?  Do you reward yourself for a job well done?  I don’t have a reward system in place yet.  Should I?

Answering Questions:

Barbara (@OttMomGo) asked me last time for swimming tips and how to build endurance.   Sorry Barbara, the only way I know of to build endurance is to keep increasing your distance.  As for swimming tips, I took swimming lessons last summer.  I was a decent swimmer before but I wanted to improve my front crawl – which I had never really learned properly to being with.  I would recommend a refresher swim course if it’s been a while since you’ve done lane swimming.

uppercasek asked me last time how I liked the Try-A-Tri and if I would recommend it to someone who has something to prove to themselves.  I enjoyed the Try-A-Tri.  I was apprehensive at first, maybe a little scared but determined.  I wanted to cross the finish line under 1 hour 30 minutes.  I did it in 1:29:02.  I would certainly recommend it to anyone who has something to prove to themselves.  I found it very empowering.

Until next time!

This entry was posted in Cindy, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cindy – Measuring Progress

  1. Lara C W says:

    Wow that’s awesome! On all counts! I agree about the endurance – my own personal experience w swimming was I couldn’t understand how I struggled w my endurance but could run half a marathon. I joined a masters swim club and got a coach. Runners often use more leg in the water, less upper body as they tend to be weaker, so their stroke is very inefficient. So in addition to swimming more I recommend drills to work on form. Throw a float between your legs to take them out of the equation, do slow stroking, use fins on your feet and hands. Stuff like that will help improve efficiency. :)

  2. Barbara says:

    I love, love, love this post because you remind us that the scale doesn’t tell the whole story. Also, I want muscles to be proud of, too. I think muscles would explain larger calf/arm measurements. Yay, you!

  3. Katie Squires says:

    HOLY SMOKES 100lbs on the lat pull down! I am maxed out at 80! Your really strong, I am smiling ear to ear reading this post!

Leave a Reply

