Coreen – Goal setting time.

I’ve discovered that you can only coast on this weight loss/health thing for so long, and apparently my time is up. After a decadent winter of no exercise, a food filled week in Toronto (oh my, I’d move there just for the food!) and this past weekend which can only be described as an eating extravaganza, I find my self (surprisingly) not much heavier, but a whole lot ‘fluffier’. I may also pant a bit when I run up the stairs, and I certainly jiggle doing the same.

Before I get started on my goals, I’d like to point out the things that don’t work for me:
* a gym membership – I mean I just cancelled my GoodLife membership after not once using it in the entire year. So let’s just file that under ‘inertia killed it’.
* running – sure it sounds great, but it just isn’t workable with our family dynamic, our schedules and my energy levels. I can’t even drag myself down one whole flight of stairs to use the treadmill in the basement!

Enough with the can’t, let’s move on to the can:
* Eating out – we’ve gotten so much better at eating in, but there are still times when we just get so busy or unmotivated that it’s much less painful to dash out to the nearest restaurant. Bar-b-que season is just around the corner, and grilling stuff just seems so much easier, so hopefully this trend will continue. While I can’t see us cutting eating out completely, I am going to do the following 1) eliminate my Tuesday/Thursday breakfast sandwich. Sure I leave home at the crack of dawn on these commute days, but I don’t really need to make up for it with a full plate of grease (or as I call it, breakfast of champions). 2) Brown bag my lunch 4 days a week. Yep, I’m going to get picky with my lunch dates. I too easily get talked into leaving my leftovers in the fridge and heading out with the gang. 3) Family dinners – weekdays will be an at-home affair. This is weeknights only, weekends are sort of a free-for-all at the moment. As I mentioned this should be much easier with the opening of the backyard grill.

* Water – I’m pretty good about water, it’s the beverage I have with my meals and I usually have a big glass of it on my desk. One thing I’m not doing these days is tracking my consumption, so I’m going to start recording and reporting it. #glugclub anyone?

*Picking up the pace – I have a dog. I walk this dog twice a day. He’s getting older and slower and the winter was not kind to him (he’s a husky so the snow excites him, but he had a pretty hard time on the ice this year). Now that the temperatures are a bit more reasonable, we’ll be headed out for longer walks and hopefully adding a bit of distance. After taking a good look at him this morning I realized I wasn’t the only one getting a bit fluffy.

* Exercise class – there is a training facility in my place of employment (don’t look at me like that, they just built it) and they hold lunch hour classes and have yoga sessions. I’m going to arrange my schedule to go 2x a week. This might be a bit weird, but I actually feel more comfortable about attending a class with my co-workers than I do walking in to a gym full of strangers!

Nice to have:
*Tracking my food – I don’t know why, but I just can’t stick with this one. I’ve got the accounts, I’ve got the apps, it really couldn’t be any easier (unless I hired someone to do it for me…anyone got a winning lottery ticket they’re not using?). I’ve even gotten the friendly nudges from MyFitness Pals, and still I stubbornly ignore it. This seems to fly in the face of my love of lists and it needs some serious attention.

What results am I hoping for? While I’m under no delusions about the chances of ever wearing a bikini again, I would like to be a bit less jiggly in the short term, and longer term, I may even dare to dream about the day when my thighs stop rubbing together and my hi helens disappear.

Coreen is a geriatric mother living with her husband (hubby) and 3.75 year old daughter (V). She works in IT Security but doesn’t yet know what she wants to be when she grows up. She also blogs at One Day this Blog will have a Snazzy Name (and is open to naming suggestions because really.)

This entry was posted in Coreen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coreen – Goal setting time.

  1. Cindy says:

    Sounds like you have a good plan in place. I used to worry what family would say when I exercised on vacation, so I’d invite them along. They never came but I felt like I got more respect from them for exercising. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

