Barbara – Why do you do it?

I think everyone knows that I’ve been struggling for focus for a while. Losing my focus has led to gaining weight and not exercising as much as I know I should. My husband noticed a couple of books about running at the library and brought them to me. I guess he has noticed me drifting, too. ;)

I came home with To be a Runner by Martin Dugard and Running on Empty: An Ultramarathoner’s Story of Love, Loss, and a Record-Setting Run Across America by Marshall Ulrich. Starting to read the books made me feel more optimistic and that made me search for new running podcasts for when I couldn’t read. I found the Another Mother Runner podcast. How did I not know that there were people giving advice beyond the really cool t-shirt slogan!?! I’m in love. I’ve also picked up the Another Mother Runner book and, in that book, I think I found the quote that summarizes why I run:

 I have the guts to set seemingly impossible goals and then methodically work toward them because I am a runner. I realize my limitations because I am a runner. I appreciate the strengths and appreciate the weaknesses of my body because I am a runner. … I know how to keep on keeping on, even when I am sure I’ve got nothing left to give, because I’m a runner.

I’m going to think of these words when leaving the house for a run seems tough. I’m not running to be fit (though that will happen), I am running to be so much more.

Is there a statement that keeps you focused, a podcast or book that brings optimism to your journey of getting fit or losing weight, or maybe a song or singer that keeps you on track? Why do you do it?

Tale of the Scale

The scale is not moving. I’m making peace with it because that is not why I do it.

Moving it

I’ve run three times each week and I’m happy with it. Yesterday was glorious – I ran 10.5 km in the sun with my group and I felt like I could have gone so much farther.  Reid and I skiied both Sundays and the temperature change from last week to this was amazing and I was glad that I’m in nature to notice. I also went in the pool with Reid for parent’s night at swimming lessons. She is a strong swimmer and I need to work to keep up. Swimming lessons are on my list but I’m not sure when they can happen.

This entry was posted in Barbara and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Barbara – Why do you do it?

  1. Another good book is from my friend Scott Rigsby – Unthinkable. Amazingly written and true story.

  2. Katie Squires says:

    I can’t tell you how much I love that quote it rings deep within me! thank-you for sharing.

  3. Tracey says:

    Love that quote! I’ve never thought of it that way! I’ve also never listened to a podcast! Something to look into! Good for you for getting out there and back to what you love!

  4. wordywort says:

    I am doing it to lower my triglycerides, which really means I am doing it to lengthen my lifespan. So now that I’m back to my pre-pregnancy weight, I am sensing a plateau in motivation – kind of like I need to enjoy the view from this old familiar territory for a bit. But then I hope I will move on again! It is about weight, and it’s not. So sometimes it’s easy to lose your way. I requested Run Like a Mother from the public library – thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

