Cindy – To Everything there is a Reason

I have a story to tell.

Once upon a time there was a Cindy.  She was a very busy Cindy because she spent a lot of time running around with a little fellow named Pirate Pants.  Pirate Pants liked to dance and jump and run and Cindy used to watch him and get tired.

One day Cindy was watching Pirate Pants dance and she said, “I want to try dancing.”  So she did, and it was fun.  So she danced more often.

One day Cindy was watching Pirate Pants jump and she said, “I want to try jumping.”  So she did, and it was scary, but also fun.  So she jumped more often.

One day Cindy was watching Pirate Pants run and she said, “I want to try running.”  So she loaded up the C25K program to her iPod, and she’ll start it as soon as she gets rid of this cold.

The End.

Well, no, not really.  But it does speak to my main reason for getting fit.  I have to keep up with Pirate Pants!  The family joke is a Pirate Pants in motion tends to stay in motion while a Pirate Pants at rest doesn’t happen.  And I want to be around longer to enjoy him and the adventure he brings to my life.

Not only is he a reason for my to get into shape, but he’s also an inspiration.  I want him to grow up in a home where we do family related fitness activities.  We’re already doing a lot of Swimming, and Pirate Pants and I go dancing once a week (Mom and Tot Creative Movement LOVE IT! )  But if we get into the habit of doing it now, then as he gets older we will have the momentum to keep it going and hopefully he will grow up fit and healthy and wanting to keep moving and not spend every day sitting in front of a TV, video game or whatever the newest trend is in fifteen years.

So here’s my update on me.  I’ve finally  recovered from the 6 days of stomach flu (WOHOO!), two gym visits and one dance class last week, including a Pilates and a yoga class; two gym visits already this week  and at least one more booked – with a yoga class; one dance class still to come.  I’ve food journaled 90% of the time.  I haven’t weighed in, but that’s not a priority for me right now.  I just want to get active and stay active, get the momentum going.  Dropping the weight will come, I know that.

Here’s my question to you LIO readers.  What’s the reason behind you being here?  If you don’t know yet, that’s fine too.  It took me almost 10 years to get to this point where I KNOW what I want and I’m actually doing it.  You’ll get there.

Until next time.

-Cindy

This entry was posted in Cindy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cindy – To Everything there is a Reason

  1. A lot of my motivation is just the same as yours – keeping up with my kid. I called myself out on insisting that Reid be involved in sports but not doing anything active myself. I didn’t think my body size was a good example to set for her either. It’s working, I think, since she and I now ski together on Sundays and she is eager to run her first 5k this year. My challenge is to find a way to start playing hockey; Reid doesn’t think I can. I have to show her that I – and she – can do anything. ;)

  2. Shona says:

    I am here because I want to feel good and honestly, I want to look good, too. I am here because I want to keep up increased energy levels, strength, and my self esteem as well. I want to enjoy good health and feel like a hottie, to boot. And soon, I think my motivation will also include yours and Barbara’s reasons, too. :)

  3. Wordywort says:

    My toddler Very is my inspiration too. I don’t want being overweight to cut short my life expectancy. Your “dance” class sounds like fun. Maybe I’ll look into something like that…

  4. Katie Squires says:

    One of my big reasons is my children as well, also because they are girls, I want to give thema healthy role model, a mom that is happy with who she is, and can hopefully help them in finding self love and self esteem :)

Leave a Reply

