Jenn – Excuses, Excuses…

It happens every year: Once the summer ends and the days get shorter, people struggle to workout. The weather gets colder, and the last thing anyone wants to do is leave a warm, cozy couch or bed to head out for an early morning run or exercise class at the gym. Most of the time we all just need a little push, so here are some ways to bust those exercise excuses and get your workouts in:

Excuse: I’m too tired to exercise after work

There is a big difference between being mentally tired and physically tired believe it or not. Doing something physical can actually help to combat mental fatigue. I find I’m able to focus much easier after a workout later on in the day. It also helps if I boost my pre exercise energy by having a snack rich in complex carbohydrates and protein.  Fueling up gives me the energy to complete a workout when my motivation is low after work

Excuse: I have no motivation in the am

Morning workouts aren’t always fun, especially in the dark cold winter months. They are however, a must when it comes to staying on a healthy lifestyle track. Exercising first thing in the morning guarantees that you get a workout in before the day gets busy and you are overrun with excuses.  When lying in bed debating whether to get up and exercise or not, count to three in your head and just get up.  Make the commitment to exercise for 20 minutes. One that 20 minutes is up you really get into it and before you know it, you’ve completed a whole work out!

Excuse: I don’t have time to exercise

Scheduling a workout into my day won’t help when your day is already overwhelmed by a to-do list.  When this happens, think outside of the box and figure out other ways to incorporate exercise into your day. Park your car in a central spot where you can walk to all of your errands.  Park in the furthest spot away from the store, take the stairs instead of the escalator or elevator.  Cross things off your list and get a workout in!

Excuse: The thought of 30 minutes on a cardio machine is sooooo boring!

Sometimes, just thinking of going to the gym can make you tired. However, if you’re lucky enough to be able to schedule a workout session at the gym around a favorite TV shows, you could have something to look forward to, a little me time to watch a favourite program or a guilty pleasure trashy tv show. Make sure to start your workout 10 or 15 minutes before your show starts. You will be so distracted by your show that you won’t even notice the extra minutes and the time will fly by.

There you have it 4 exercise excuses busted!!  Hopefully you are able to put one or all of these to good use and get up and get moving during the colder and darker fall and winter months.

Have a great weekend and get moving!

This entry was posted in Jenn, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jenn – Excuses, Excuses…

  1. Shona says:

    Heading out to meet my gym buddy right now! :)

  2. Andie says:

    On days when I’m not motivated, I find it super-helpful to have my pedometer on. It helps me re-frame all of the extra walking (like you suggested – parking farther away, taking stairs, etc.) as exercise, but it also shows me just how sedentary I have been, which generally motivates me to get up and change that. Nothing like only having 1,500 steps by noon to make you decide to make time for a walk.

  3. Katie Squires says:

    I really like the idea of having a complex carb/protein before an evening workout, I had two of those this week (late workouts) and really found my energy lacking.

    I also like the idea of finding ways to sneak exercise in…like house work…make extra trips, dance, lunge, squat as you do it, turn the tunes on and go for it, shopping in the mall do some stairs…etc…I see this as something fun..a challenge of sorts and I love a good challenge :) Thank-you Jenn

  4. Pingback: Is it time to schedule YOU into your schedule ? « Year of the Detox

Leave a Reply

