Barbara – What I’ve learned at hockey about weight loss and fitness

Reid is in her third year of hockey but this is the first year of actually playing hockey games. For two years, her coaches had the kids working on the fundamentals: skating, standing up after you fall, holding your stick properly, shooting a puck, and these sorts of things. Very occasionally, they would throw a puck or two down and tell the kids to try to “score” on one of two nets. This year, though, there are games and the coach has to get between 13 and 15 seven-year-olds organized into lines and working toward a common objective.

Each game they have three things to remember: shoot and chase, watch offside calls and change lines on the fly. No. Please don’t stop reading because you aren’t interested in hockey. I’m about to tell you why these distilled bits of wisdom will help with weight loss and fitness.

Shoot and chase: The kids aren’t proficient puck handlers yet. It’s better for them to start the puck going in the right direction and then try to catch up to it or have a teammate move it forward. When you’re trying to lose weight, it’s hard to manage many decisions and keep cravings and temptations from taking your good intentions away from you. If you plan your meals ahead and then try to stick with them, or have a friend keep you on track, you’ll have greater success overall.

Offside calls: In hockey, the offensive players can’t cross a line before the puck does or they’re “offside“. When they do, they have to skaters have to come back out of the other team’s end and wait for the puck to go in. Sometimes, when we’re trying to lose weight, we also cross a line – usually the line between a healthy portion and too much but also the line between a choice we’ll regret and one that enables weight loss. The best approach at this point is to circle around to the side of the line where we should be and continue playing. I’m pretty sure that the hockey players who cross the line aren’t wracked with guilt and never consider giving up the rest of the game. They just get on with what they were supposed to be doing.

Change lines on the fly: Playing hockey is tiring business. When you’re seven, though, it’s hard to recognize that you should voluntarily give up your turn and rest. It’s hard, too, for adults who are focused on losing weight, getting fit, raising kids or planning weddings, working, crafting and doing a million other things to recognize that they need a break. Whether it’s the occasional indulgence (think of Jenn’s Good vs Bad post) or trying for a good night’s sleep (as Karine talked about in On Sleeping), we need to give ourselves a break now and again. Life, like a ref’s whistle, will sometimes force us to take the break but we’ll do so much better when we listen to our bodies rather than waiting for an external cue.

Have you learned something in another part of your life that helps you with weightloss or fitness?

Tale of the scale

Nothing to report. No change, only much frustration with myself for not being more attentive. Folks, I need a kick in the butt in this regard.

Moving it

Oh, the embarassment. I ran once. That’s it. The rest of my time was taken up with living, spending a great weekend with my mom and brother in town and sleeping. I guess I need a workout buddy downtown. Maybe Pam would join me at Goodlife on Queen? Maybe you would?

This entry was posted in Barbara, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Barbara – What I’ve learned at hockey about weight loss and fitness

  1. Katie Squires says:

    very cool post almost makes me ‘like’ hockey :) LOL

  2. Great post! Nice and optimistic for a Monday morning.

  3. Lara C W says:

    Nice analogy Barbara – I would join you but I’m giving up my Goodlife membership – I found October in general to be a difficult month – after 2 years of pretty clean eating I binged on Halloween candy (and I don’t even like candy! ) lost my live of vegetables and felt generally unmotivated to make healthy meals – for me I was trying to do too much and after 4-6 weeks of kids in school, that transitional stress caught up on me. As you
    said you ran only once but spent quality time
    w family and caught up on rest. That’s not for nought ;) There are three pillars of health, physical yes but also spiritual and mental – we need to take a break sometimes to nurture those other areas and rest the physical, recallibrate efforts so we can work towards more balanced goals – nit within your hockey theme but still important perspective :)

  4. Karin says:

    Great post Bub!

  5. Sasha says:

    This is such a great analogy, Barbara. I can definitely apply shoot and chase to my lifestyle. And the thought of guilt over an offside made me laugh. Sad thing is, I *would* have been the kid agonizing over it. Guess not much has changed.

    Great post!!

Leave a Reply

