Karine, week 1: Presentations

Hello everyone, my name is Karine. I was born in Lévis, across the river from Québec City and I moved in Gatineau two years ago for professional reasons. I am a special education secondary school teacher as well as a part time post-graduate student. I have no kids and I live with a great man who loves me for everything I am.

For a few years now, I have always been able to blame someone or something in order not to take care of my weight issue. I no longer can. A couple months ago, I decided to take words into action and started to get serious about getting fit. My goal: A sound mind in a sound body. At 26, I have a great professional and personal life but I weighed 234 pounds and struggled with anxiety. Over the course of the summer, I came across a lot of obstacles I had put in my own way and reached a few of my goals. I biked around the Lac-St-Jean for 271 kilometers in 3 days and participated to my first race, completing the Army run’s 5K in 47:47 (establishing my first PB). I also developed strategies to cope with anxiety and I can now say that I feel good and that physical activities help me a lot.

I curently weight 223 pounds and, over the course of the next year, I plan on taking back the control of my body and my mind. I want to get active and fit. Of course, I would like to drop 1½ pound per week and reaching my “healthy weight” but more importantly, I want to be able to say that I got out there and did it. I enjoy biking, swimming and running and I plan on taking part in my first triathlon in May 2012.

I am thrilled to join the Losing it in Ottawa movement as motivation tends to be hard to find those days with everything going on at work and at University. I have been an avid reader for a few months now and I couldn’t wait to get started as a contributor.

Short-term goals

• Keep logging my meals into Lose it daily.
• Go back to the pool and swim at least once a week.
• Run at least twice a week.
• Be proud of myself daily and never forgetting where I started at.

As any of you ever tried a triathlon?

About uppercasek

I am a 26 years old special education teacher and graduate student and a bit of a geek. I like a good conversation, cheesy television shows, scrapbooking and Scrabble. Born and raised near Quebec City, I learned English through travelling and reading academic literature. As this is my first attempt to blog, I am looking forward to share my journey to a healthy mind in a healthy body with all (or even only one!) of you.
This entry was posted in Karine, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Karine, week 1: Presentations

  1. Katie Squires says:

    271km!!!!!!! WOWsers that is quite the feat!! and a 5km race to boot too :) You are starting with a BANG! I am reading your post and I see so much of myself, a strong capable woman that is eager to push her body to new heights, who struggles with anxiety, and is finding new ways to cope with it…I see you accomplishing great things! Welcome aboard!

  2. Alison says:

    Great goals and welcome aboard. Happy to meet the new Losing it in Ottawa gang.
    I’ve done 2 of the Try-a-Tri’s. The first one of the season has a pool swim which is a great way to start. I also found the energy and enthusiasm from the participants and supporters so wonderful. Let me know if you want to talk about it further.

  3. Shona says:

    I agree! You have great goals. :) It sounds like you are on the right path with the right frame of mind. That is one powerful combination!

  4. Sasha says:

    Welcome Karine! It sounds like you’re well on your way, wow! And planning a tri too! That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

