Coreen – BootyCamp final report (for now)

I had my final BootyClass Fitness session on Tuesday.  When I signed up I had no idea what I was getting in to; I was originally going to try out a Zumba class, but my friend pulled a last minute switcharoo, and I figured anything to get over my fears.

After the first Tuesday class we did an assessment. Our instructor brought out the tape measure, callipers and scale. She used the tape on our upper arm, chest, waist, butt and both thighs. The evil callipers were used on our tricep (18), surailium (17) and thigh (42) *shudder* and the scale? Well, I’d gained a bit of weight since deciding to take the class (yes those summer weekends can be killer).

Last night we had our final class, it should have been Thursday but neither of us  could make it so we decided to back-to-back classes Monday/Tuesday (WHAT were we thinking!). As we did the first Tuesday, we submitted to the measurements after class and I’m so absolutely happy to report that I ended up losing 6lbs, 5″ overall and all of my calliper measurements were down! Tricep was 16, suprailium 14 and thigh 37. Their handy-dandy calculator tells me this means I’m down 3% body fat, and I lost 6.4lbs of fat weight (gaining .4lbs of lean mass) and I feel great!

I loved it and I would recommend these classes to anyone. They’re a great time, the instructors I’ve had have been really helpful and encouraging, the daily recipes are great and the other web support was wonderful too.  The classes themselves are tough, but they always offer modifications if you need them. For instance I have diastasis recti (the things they don’t tell you about pregnancy!) and sit-ups are really gross, and I shouldn’t be doing them. I modified to crunches and am still working my abs, just without the bulging.

I sadly cannot go to the October session, I’m being audited at work and I know better than to think I can have a life during that time. So I’m hoping the DVD workouts as well as the nutritional hints I received will help me maintain my fitness and maybe even lose a few more pounds. And then November session here I come!

Coreen is a geriatric mother living with her husband (hubby) and 3.75 year old daughter (V). She works in IT Security but doesn’t yet know what she wants to be when she grows up. She also blogs at One Day this Blog will have a Snazzy Name (and is open to naming suggestions because really.)

This entry was posted in Coreen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Coreen – BootyCamp final report (for now)

  1. Jay says:

    I’m so happy to read this! I signed up for the October sessions and am a bit nervous about it! Is the class for 1hr?

    • neeroc says:

      It was really great and a fun workout (and yes there were the moments when I thought I was crazy for doing it *g*). I’m sort of sad I won’t be able to do October, which location/instructor are you with?

  2. Lara says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed booty camp – I was super surprised last year when I did too :)

  3. roadto170 says:

    This is a great blog. I’ve been blogging my own weightless at roadto170.wordpress.com. Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

