Sasha – The Salad Post

An embarrassingly long time ago, I promised to write a round-up of all the marvellous salad ideas that the Losing It community (and others) came up with on Twitter (Thanks Karen for the gentle reminder :)).

I complained in this post that I don’t like salad. Or more to the point, I don’t like lettuce.  Well, salads don’t have to have lettuce, as any rabbit knows, and here are some great ideas, in 140 characters or less.

From Deb (@SlowAsFranklin):
@sasharambles Cucumber and tomato with crumbled light feta and your choice of dressing. Yum!

This one has become a standard around here. So simple, and you can easily mix it up with a change of cheese (goat cheese & bocconcini both work well) and a dressing to match. Thanks Deb!

From Krista (@KGrayDonald):
@sasharambles tomato bocconcini red onion pine nuts in balsamic vinaigrette. Or Greek

Krista reminded me of my love for bocconcini, which is not necessarily a good thing. An open container lasts about 12 hours around here, and that’s on a good day. But putting this together reminds me – I did buy pine nuts after getting this tweet, I need to start using them! Thanks Krista!

From Cath (@loraxknits):
@sasharambles I do black beans with 3-4 mangos (diced), red pepper, some pineapple and a bit of lime … yum!

What can I say? This is every bit as tasty (and pretty) as it sounds. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. Thank you Cath!

From Robin (@wordywort): 
@sasharambles Mix 3 different cans of beans + 1 diced pepper + dressing (oil, vinegar, sugar?, garlic, 1 tsp mustard, splash oj, oregano).

Doesn’t that dressing sound tasty? I still need to try it, but mixed beans have already become a salad staple. Thanks Robin!

From Brie (@capitalmom): 
@sasharambles I love black bean, salad leafs, feta, pepper and balsamic vinegar. I could eat it every night.

And I do eat this, or something like it, almost daily now. Without the leafs ;). Thank you Brie!

From Julie (@TheMagicFridge):
@sasharambles salad = celery, apples, radishes, all sliced thinly, in dressing of peanut butter, soy sauce, lime juice…

Ok, so can everyone tell that Julie is a professional? YUM! I still have to try this, I’ve got the radishes, but every time I go to make it the apples are all gone. Thanks Julie! 

Ch-ch-ch-changes

Here are some of the changes I’ve seen in the past two weeks. And incidentally, if anyone has a better idea for what to call this section, let me know.

  • I have a collection of T-shirts, memories of sailing trips down south, that have been too small for a very long time. And almost before I realized they fit again, they’re too big. This is a bit bittersweet.
  • I am starting to push myself out of my comfort zone with regards to clothing, both sizes and styles, with mixed results. In some cases I have come home with clothes I never thought I’d wear, and I’m now pretty sure I’ll never wear them. Oh well – off to the clothing swap!
  • I have noticed more and more lately that, around the end of the day, I’m reaching my calorie goal and feeling like that’s about the right amount of food for the day. This is A Good Thing.
  • The scale says I lost 3 pounds and then gained back 1.2, for a net loss of 1.8 pounds in the past 2 weeks. That makes for a total of 26 pounds so far.

Looking for more salad ideas? Check out the #saladchallenge on Twitter. Got some of your own? Share them!

Sasha is an Ottawa area blogger who has far too much to say about both salads and sizes.

This entry was posted in Sasha and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sasha – The Salad Post

  1. Shona says:

    Thanks for sharing those great recipes! Sounds delish! :)

    Sounds like you are making good progress, too! Congrats on your 1.8! :)

    • Sasha says:

      Thanks Shona! Trundling along – with the help of some awesome salad ideas. Here’s to the power of crowdsourcing, especially this crowd!

  2. NOW THIS IS GOLDEN :) Thank-you

    • Sasha says:

      Enjoy! And this is just what people came up with in that first day or so after I posted – there’s lots more on the #saladchallenge if you’re on twitter. If not, I think I may create a regular round-up of those recipes and post it.

  3. Lara C W says:

    That bean and mango salad sounds yummy! This post is so motivating to get creative w our summer meals. Has anyone tried making strawberry salsa? Anything like that I’m interested in!

  4. Sara says:

    Now I’m hungry :P Those are all delicious!! I’ve found having a friend with you when you shop is really helpful when you’re losing weight and still unsure about your body and how clothes fit it. A friend who will be honest about what looks good/what doesn’t. I’m known for my honesty and might be offering up my ‘lets go shopping’ services ;) #justsayin

    • Sasha says:

      See this arm? This is a rubber arm. And it happens to be paired with some legs that still need pants.
      Incidentally, I’m known for my propensity to beat around the bush and just might be taking you up on your offer :)

  5. Finola says:

    I would take Sara up on her offer. She is honest and kind in writing group too :)

  6. Finola says:

    P.S. Congrats on 26 pounds. That is rocking!!

  7. Pingback: 19 Food-Free Friend Dates | Losing It In Ottawa

Leave a Reply

