Vicky – Inspiration comes from different places

Sometimes blog inspiration comes from something I have to get off my chest, the words just flow effortlessly. Other times my ideas come from conversations I have with friends, like the one I had with Sara just last week. Forgive me Sara if I quote this incorrectly, but as we were talking about our weight loss journeys, she said something like ‘if I decide if I’m going to make this a 2 year journey….’ That really resonated with me. It was like an eye opener that there isn’t a DUE DATE on my weight loss. So what if it takes me 1 year or 2 to get to my goal, I’ll get there eventually. The point is that the healthy habits I am creating stick with me for life. It’s been a struggle the past 4 months to see ANY progress.

With that in mind, I decided to try a bit harder. Last December I bought a book called the 17 day diet. I saw it on the Dr. Phil show and it looked interesting. I won’t get into the details in this post, but basically it’s a plateau busting diet that you follow in 17 day increments. I opened up the book, and my eyes were drawn to a line that read “if you are overweight, then you likely do not have healthy eating habits.’ Well duh. But it’s true isn’t it. I am overweight, and it’s because I’m not eating as healthy as I could be. So I decided to give the diet a shot, figure I might as well since I DID spend money on the book ;). I’m on day 3 today. I promise next week I’ll write a full update of the diet and whether or not it worked for me.

So that gets me to the part about inspiration… I was thinking about what I would write about this week, when I happened to see a link to a Pinterest board flash by on twitter. If you’re not familiar with Pinterest, it’s a bit like a virtual bulletin board where people can post pictures, quotes or ideas and share them with others.

Yesterday I saw this:

So I went to the gym.

I saw this:

and started thinking differently about my size 12 body.

I saw this

and this

And believed I could do it. I took a look in the mirror, and decided I’d do this:

and will start thinking more like this…

What about you, where does your inspiration come from? 

 

This entry was posted in Vicky and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Vicky – Inspiration comes from different places

  1. Shona says:

    Love this post! (the size thing was very interesting!) Sometimes being kind to yourself is the hardest part…

    • Somekindofmom says:

      Thanks Shona. It is hard to be kind to yourself, especially when you’ve been mean mean mean to yourself for so many years! (I’m talking about me here ;)

  2. Lara says:

    Pinterest is awesome for inspiration I find – words can have such an impact when they are set in a passive way (Ie, don’t tell me what to do, but let me figure it out on my own ;)

    • Somekindofmom says:

      Lost my final post, this one wasn’t the one I had meant to post! Re-wrote it now, so go back and have a look!

  3. sherrilynne7 says:

    What a fun post! Thanks!

  4. sharon kake says:

    so true got to love it.

  5. Alison says:

    This is great. The first one is one that will stick with me :)

    • Somekindofmom says:

      Isn’t it so true? I can’t tell you how many times I’ve thought, if I had only stuck to my weight loss plan I would be X lbs lighter by now… don’t put off today what you said you’d do yesterday.

  6. Fun post indeed. Love yourself ’cause we all know you merit at LEAST that….we’re our harshest critics!!

    • Somekindofmom says:

      We are our harshest critics aren’t we! Would we ever tolerate this kind of abuse from anyone else? I don’t think so!

  7. Sasha says:

    Wow. Where did you get that size picture?? That was an eye opener. I also love the Nike billboard. Those guys are so smart. I’ve thought about getting “just do it” engraved on a bracelet, something small that’s just a reminder to me, because what I usually need is to stop thinking and start doing.

  8. Somekindofmom says:

    Good idea Sasha! A bracelet, or a tattoo ;)

    The pics came from Pinterest.com

  9. Karen says:

    This was a brilliant post – love the messages and the inspiration. And the thing is that this journey is already a lifetime thing. The end doesn’t come when we hit our goal weight, because then there will be new goals to achieve, new obstacles to overcome. It’s about changing our thinking and habits for a lifetime – something I have been seriously neglecting the last few weeks. This post, my friend, came at a time I really needed it. Thank you!

  10. jane says:

    Wow that was a brilliant post ! It has a message that rings true for all of us no matter our age and we all need to remember it is all about changing for today, tomorrow and always.

    Many many thanks

  11. Sara says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this!!

  12. Erica says:

    Wow. I’m just wow. This is a great post and a great reminder on all levels for me. Thank you so much. You don’t know how much I needed this today. Xxx

  13. Jay says:

    Vicky – this is awesome!!!!

  14. Sasha says:

    Hey Vicky,

    It’s funny – after your tweet I thought I’d come back and re-read some of your recent posts, and right in this one I more or less found the core of what I was already thinking of saying, right there in your post and my comment:

    you: “there isn’t a DUE DATE on my weight loss”
    me: “what I usually need is to stop thinking and start doing”

    Don’t you love it when someone throws your words back at you? ;)

    How do these relate? Well, I was going to suggest that instead of some pep-talk, how about some pep-action? A slightly different take on the success-begets-success – this time working off your own success. Why not pick one thing – just one – that you can do today.

    What has worked best for me is journalling: promising myself I’ll write every bite, and then following through – no matter what it was, no matter how long it takes to get back to the journal (No “I’m already done dinner and haven’t even logged lunch, why bother?” there is no statute of limitations here.) No “writing off” the day that’s unsalvageable. Our bodies keep an excellent tally of what goes in and what goes out, our brains, it seems needs help with that.

    *ANYHOW* it doesn’t have to be journalling (I tend to fixate on it, since it has become my ‘one thing’). You need to pick something that works for you. Maybe getting enough water, or vegetables. Maybe an exercise goal. But make it ONE thing. If you think of a list, save the list for another day. But do that one thing today.

    And if you don’t manage it today, try again tomorrow (I can’t tell you how many times I have gone through *that* little loop). And if you DO manage it today, AWESOME! Do it again tomorrow :). And keep at it until you’ve either got it licked, or you are really REALLY sure it’s just not going to work for you. Then you can start thinking about the second thing. Don’t forget, you don’t have to do it all now. This is a lifetime project – there is no due date.

    Want to make it a challenge? Between you and me, or maybe call in reinforcements? I’m game. Or you can do it yourself, too. Whatever works for YOU – because you’re doing this FOR you.

    Sasha

    PS I wouldn’t worry too much about losing your way – you can’t stay lost with this many back seat drivers back here :)

  15. Jennifer says:

    I LOVE THIS POST!!! It’s pretty, and happy, and inspiring, and so very true!!!

    Thank you for this. :)

  16. Pingback: Barbara – No one plans to become unhealthy | Losing It In Ottawa

Leave a Reply

