Sasha – Success Begets Success

I am constantly being inspired by the Losing It community. Maranda tweets a yummy, healthy lunch, and suddenly I’m eating better lunches. Brie issues a twitter #saladchallenge, and not only am I inspired by the tasty suggestions, I start experimenting more.

And all you runners out there? YOU are the reason that I have started running again. I had good reasons for stopping, and I have goals to make it work better. But the sheer volume of running tweets has made it so that I can Not. Not. Run. Any. More.

(feel free to re-read that last bit if you need to)

I’ve been having a rough few weeks, for reasons that have nothing to do with weight loss (and only some of which have to do with toilet training). As a result, one evening last week I found myself sitting hiding sulking in the basement, raging at life and just generally feeling sorry for myself.

Which I think I can safely say is the worst possible use of some very rare child-free moments.

Flipping through my RSS reader, I stumbled upon a post from Sara. I think it was her Fifty post, but I don’t remember for sure. (The trouble with Sara is that she inspires me so frequently that it’s easy to lose track). Anyhow, it was exactly what I needed: it got my butt out of the basement, my journal finished, and even got me to skip out on cake.

So what I’ve got here is not so much a blog post as a battle-cry:

I want YOU to brag more!

I really wish I could think of a better word than ‘brag’. When I read other people’s ‘brags’, I don’t see bragging. I see inspiration. I feel happy and proud for whoever it is. So it makes no sense that I worry that I’m bragging – but I do. And if I’m worried, maybe you’re worried too. And if you’re worried, I fear you may be holding out on us.

So I’m issuing a challenge. It has two parts:

  1. Share a non-scale victory. It can be anything: an action, an outcome; anything you consider a victory. Comment here, tweet about it, or blog about it. Just put it out there so that the rest of us can be inspired.
  2. Watch for other people’s NSVs. If they inspire you, tell them. If you are proud of them, tell them that too. Bonus (karma-)points if it’s someone you’ve never talked to before.

Ch-ch-changes

Here are some changes I’ve seen in the past 2 weeks:

  • I’ve finally packed up all the maternity t-shirts. This is as much a mental adjustment as anything. I mean, come on: I’ve lost some 50 pounds since those suckers were appropriate. Oh, and the underwear drawer needed a purge too.
  • I have started, under certain conditions, using exercise as a reward. And when you have picked yourself off the floor, you can thank me for that little workout I just gave you. I have also started thinking weird thoughts, like “hey, if I keep this running thing up, I can buy new runners!” Rewards indeed.
  • Oh yeah, then there’s the scale. It says I have lost ½ a pound in the past two weeks, for a total of 24.2 pounds. What can I say? If slow and steady wins the race, then I got this thing licked.

So go on, brag a little. Share your successes. We’re all counting on you.

Sasha is an Ottawa area mom, geek, and runner (eep!), who didn’t have time for her first blog so decided to start a second. She thinks weird thoughts on a regular basis.

This entry was posted in Sasha and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sasha – Success Begets Success

  1. Karen says:

    I love the way you think. Part of my reasoning for not getting new running shoes is because I’m a little worried – with good reason – that I’m not going to stick with running. I can’t tell you how proud I am that I’ve overcome the temptation – 10 times!!! – to sleep in. Im getting close to the point that I’ll need them and every day I feel a bit more like I’ve earned them.

    This inspiration to run was so strong for me over race weekend. I can’t believe how much I want this to work. And the more people I have cheering me on – like you – the more determined I am. So, I thank you. You’ve been just as big an inspiration to all of us. Just thought you should know that.

    So, next time, maybe share your favorite salad experiment!?

    • Sasha says:

      Exactly! I don’t want to go spending money on something I’m not going to follow through on. Now, I’m pretty sure I’m going to follow through on the whole running thing, but I still feel like I should earn those shoes. Partly because the old shoes were bought the last time I tried running. That was a Running Room clinic, and around week 3 it suddenly got much harder. I also sprained my ankle, but I’m sure I could have gotten back on it if I had been really determined.

  2. Shona says:

    So, all the running talk has gotten me to start running too, and I signed up for my first 5km ever! (I’m driving in to Ottawa to do the Army Run with all of you). Also, this week I lost enough to hit -50 lbs. I know it’s not a NSV, but I thought I could share that, too. :)

    And Karen, go buy those shoes!!! :)

    • Sasha says:

      It’s infectious, isn’t it? If anything, I’m worried because I’m sure there are people around here who really aren’t interested in running (just like any activity, it’s not going to be everyone’s cup of tea). I was going to try and write a post about that, but then I, er, started running again :P

  3. sherrilynne7 says:

    What a great, funny post. Looks like you’ve made some good progress in the past two weeks. I’m not running yet, but it has entered my mind now as an actual possibility..instead of being a ludicrous idea. :-)

  4. Maranda says:

    Great post! I agree, sharing inspirations keeps us all motivated. And those NSVs (I smell a new hashtag) are key to success.

    Congrats on your changes, and your slow-and-steady progress. You are inspirational too! :)

    • Sasha says:

      Let me know if you think of a hashtag! I was going to suggest #nsv, but it’s crowded with a bunch of people talking about Justin Bieber. No idea why.

  5. Yum.i missed out on the saladchallenge but want to share one I made this weekend: http://www.shutterbean.com/couscous-garbanzo-spinach-salad/ – described as “health on a plate”….really beautiful and tasty too. i used kale instead of baby spinach, ’cause that’s what I had.

    I would love to be able to write that i set my alarm and got up at 5:15 as planned to run. But I can’t.

    I was so wiped as i went to bed last night that i let my fatigue win the day. Hills and shuttle runs in the park can do that to a girl.

    I did knock off 2 minutes from my 4k time though, on Sunday ,and that felt GREAT. Made the sub-40 min. 5k goal I’ve set for September seem attainable.

    I am aiming to track food through this weekend. A small gain through my visit from ol ‘auntie flo discouraged me and I kinda went off the rails but I want to get back on track and tracking is the way to go.

    You’re doing so awesome – we MUST get a team photo before the beginning of the run in September. we’re going to be so STRONG!

    • Sasha says:

      Oh wow. That recipe sounds so yummy, and I haven’t even followed the link yet! I’ve gotten into a bit of a culinary rut with hunk-of-meat+veggies-on-the-grill. Yummy, and perfect for summer, but I need to find other things that are perfect for summer. Will check that out!

  6. Lara Wellman says:

    I think NSV are awesome and we should always shout them from the rooftops. And I want to remind people if they aren’t on Twitter they can use the Facebook page too! Go and tell us you drank three litres of water or made it to the gym when you didn’t want to. Go go go! :)

  7. Sasha says:

    Eeep! Forgot Facebook. My Facebook page is feeling horribly neglected ever since I found Twitter :). I even have half a post about it (one of several… ironically, one of them is a “Getting It Done” post…).

  8. Capital Mom says:

    Love the idea of exercise as a reward. :-)

    A nonscale victory was a grandma at the park saying how lovely and kind my kids are. Score!

  9. Sara says:

    Your posts always inspire me…your enthusiasm is infectious. My NSV for the day is eating a whole salad and only a small handful of french fries with dinner (takeout) at a friends house instead of the other way around :)

  10. JennyB says:

    Yay to NSV’s!! I ran my first half marathon 3 weeks ago and then on Sunday, I finally got my 10k time under am hour! Woo hoo, next goal is under 55mins. I also just signed up for the Spartan race – completing that will be a huge NSV.

    Great idea for sharing these in your post!

  11. Pingback: Barbara – No one plans to become unhealthy | Losing It In Ottawa

Leave a Reply

