Jenn – The Big 3 – Oh No! Wait a Minute!

So next week I am celebrating a mile stone. Next week, I turn the big 30.

I don’t know about you, but throughout my life I’ve always had a “plans”. 

Future plans: lose (insert number here) pounds by this date, run a 5km race by (insert date here) and a half marathon by (insert another date here) etc….   And there are short-term plans such as going to the gym four times a week, running three times a week, not eating sweets for two weeks, drinking 10 glasses of a water a day,  etc….   I’m sure a lot of you are familiar with both of these types of life plans and I’m almost positive some if not all of you have made these types of plans too.

There is only one problem, life doesn’t always stick to your plans.  Sometimes the weather is bad, sometimes you can’t make it to the gym on “that” day, someone brings chocolate cupcakes into work to share, or it rains when it’s your day to run 5k outside. Sometimes life throws you a curve ball.

What do I do when life throws a wrench in my plans?  I become flexible.  That’s right, flexible. It’s a pretty simple solution isn’t it?

If it rains on a day I’ve planned cardio outside, I change it up and do strength training inside.  If I can’t get to the gym in the morning, I go after work.  If someone brings cupcakes in to work to share, I have one and then skip my afternoon late,  or that night I have fruit instead of ice cream as an after dinner treat.  If you’re flexible, you can be ready for anything life throws at you, and if you’re flexible there is no room for excuses.   

I’m down another two pounds! for the next two weeks my goal will be to not put any back on.  You see, there is going to be a lot of celebrating going on in the next two weeks.  My parents and my fiance’s parents are meeting for the first time, my fiance’s little brother is graduating, and I will be celebrating my 30th birthday at at least several different events.  All of these will involve food in one way or another, and some of these will cut into my gym and running time too.  So for at least the next two weeks I am going to follow my own advice and be flexible, and not too hard on myself, after all you only turn 30 once!

So, what are my goals for the next two weeks again?

  1. Maintain my weight and not gain
  2. Be flexible, just because I can’t make it to the gym in the morning doesn’t mean I can’t get there after work.

I also thought I would throw in one more goal for now:

3.  Switch from coffee to tea. My usual weekday habit is to grab a tea on the way into work and at some other point during the day get a caffe au lait from a coffee shop around the corner from my work. If I get a second tea instead of my caffe au lait I will be saving myself an extra 100 calories a day that could be put to eat more nutritious meals.

I am going to need all the nutrients I can get because as of June 26 I will not only be training for the Army half marathon, but also the Toronto Waterfront half marathon. The Toronto Waterfront half takes place about a month after the Army run. Why am I doing this to myself? Am I crazy? No,  I am doing this as a 30th birthday gift to myself. 

What could be a better gift to give yourself than the gift of good health?

Happy Fathers day everyone, and good luck to all of those running the “DO It For Dad” run this Sunday! See you out there!!! :)

This entry was posted in Jenn, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jenn – The Big 3 – Oh No! Wait a Minute!

  1. Shona says:

    I love this post! I completely agree that being flexible is key (and flexible in the right way to still meet your goals). Congrats on being down another 2 lbs! Enjoy your 30th, and happy early birthday!! :)

  2. Sasha says:

    Good for you! Flexibility is important, in the sense of being able to change-it-up, not give-it-up. Attainable goals are important too. Sounds like you’ve got both! Good luck with all your goals, and enjoy your celebrations!

  3. sherrilynne7 says:

    Happy Birthday! Seems like you’ve got the right plan to get through a hectic time.

  4. Sara says:

    Woo hoo!! Congratulations on the 2lbs and you’r 2nd half…crazy girl ;) And happy birthday of course! Flexibility has been something really hard for me to learn because I have a tendency to be an all-or-nothing kind of thinker. But along with being flexible was the ability to make time to get things done: I finally realized I’ll never actually find the time since life is always throwing curve balls and busyness!

Leave a Reply

