Barbara – Week 36 – Rest of my life

I’m writing after a busy Easter Sunday that included two Easter egg hunts, six kinds of pie, two kinds of cookies and cheesecake, as well a more-than-generous dinner. And? I ate one Skittle from Reid’s Easter stash and told her that her dad could eat her chocolate bunny instead of me. I tried all of the kinds of pie, cookies and cheesecake that interested me – but only half-sized pieces. I remembered someone’s advice to eat only a tablespoon of the starchy foods like sweet potatoes and dressing and cut my serving size way back. I forgot about preparing a salad to fill half of my plate, though. At the end of the meal, I didn’t feel like I would burst. Well, except maybe with pride at being reasonable. Yes, reasonable. Not virtuous or a model for others who are also trying to lose weight but just like a normal person who made relatively healthy choices. In a boring and anti-climatic way, I felt like I was living the credo of the Fat to Fit Radio guys, and “eating like the thin person you want to be.” Thin people have holiday dinners and they eat foods that wouldn’t pass muster on a daily basis and then return to a healthier eating pattern the next day.

Thanks to all of the practice I’ve had with water challenges on Twitter, I have even kept my water intake at a reasonable level – a challenge for me anytime I not at my office. I’ve been chugging water several times a day and choosing herbal tea over coffee several times a day. The water gives me a full feeling, just like “they” say it will, and I’m not mixing up thirst signals and hunger signals.

The third side of my healthiness triangle has been maintaining activity. I have a couple of nieces who are also training for a half-marathon, though sadly not for the same one as me, and I made a date with one of them for a long, slow distance run. You can catch up on a lot when you’re running with someone for 14 km. I did jumping jacks, standing pushups and that sort of thing during rest breaks on the 9 hour drive to my mom’s and made a point of being inefficient when tidying up to get extra steps into my day. I even worked in extra steps on a shopping trip. Imagine shopping as exercise! As with food and eating, I tried to stick with my new lifestyle. 

There will likely be many chances to say, “I can’t believe I ate” or “Why didn’t I exercise?” when we think about this weekend. But it was only a weekend. Please leave a comment to tell what you did or didn’t do that makes you proud. Everyone needs to celebrate the right decisions and move on from the others.

Tale of the scale/tape

I’ve stayed within a half-pound of my goal weight over the last two weeks. I imagine I might be up a bit more today but I’m confident that my weight will drop back down once I’m away from the house of temptation that is my mom’s. I haven’t organized myself to have my measurements taken, though. I think I’m trying to avoid being held to account for my plans to work on my core. If you “see” my on Twitter (@ottmomgo), ask me if I’ve done the measurements and what I’ve done to change them.

Moving it

My runs are getting longer and longer. My “short” run each Tuesday is 5 km. Thursdays bring hills in the midst of 10 km and my long slow distances have been 8.5 km (on my own on a busy morning when the goal was 12 km) and 14 km. I’ve hit at least 10,000 steps on my pedometer every day and 15,000 steps on many occasions. My attendance at Curves has been spotty; my excuse has been the longer runs but I’m calling bull on myself because I could be working my legs worse if they’re sore/tired and putting more effort into the machines that work other parts of my body.

Losing it in Ottawa is all about inspiring and motivating each other as a community to adopt lifelong healthy habits. With that in mind, we’d like to hear from you about which blogger you feel is most inspiring and motivating for you. Please complete our survey and two weeks from now we’ll tally the results and the blogger with the most votes will receive an outfit from Mark’s.

But that’s not all, my friends! The LIO community is so wonderfully supportive that we want to give an outfit to one of you as well. Entering is easy. Just leave us a comment any time over the next week and you’ll be entered into the random draw for the second outfit.

This giveaway will close Tuesday, May 3rd at 7:00pm. Comments and survey entries submitted after that time will not be included in the draw.

This entry was posted in Barbara, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Barbara – Week 36 – Rest of my life

  1. Shona says:

    Barbara, you continue to have the right attitude about moderation… you should feel proud! You are definitely a model for the rest of us. Now go take those measurements! ;)

  2. AnnieB says:

    Our water challenges are awesome arent they? I now call them Detox Monday and Tuesdays to detox from the weekend. :) and the rest of the week follows quite naturally. (which is still surprising) LoL!
    I envy you reaching your goal weight which in turn makes me want to work harder.
    Keep up the good work!!! :)

  3. Lara says:

    You’re doing such a great job and having great self control. YAY YOU! :)

  4. I think that your restraint yesterday is commendable. It’s harder when you are not at home and not in control of the cooking… so staying reasonable is a win! I am trying to do pretty much the same things that you have described, and finding that moderation is possible, especially when you throw an active lifestyle into the mix!

  5. You inspire me!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Karin says:

    Bub, another great post :) I did get on the scale yesterday and it scared me right away from the leftovers. Think I’ll help pack my hubby’s lunch, he’ll think it’s an awesome spread and I’ll think it’s awesome that it’s going right out the door!

  7. Sara says:

    You.are.awesome!!!

    I finally feel like I understand the ‘healthy’ mentality as opposed to being on (and usually off) a diet. I ate about 200 calories of chocolate a day on Friday and Saturday and double that on Sunday. For a moment I thought “gah this is awful!” until I realized that healthy people do eat chocolate and that I previously would have eaten 10-20 times that! I didn’t use the holiday as an excuse to over-indulge and I ran 6K on Friday and 8.5K on Sunday on my own :)

    Tonight I packed up all but a small container of Easter chocolate to send into DH’s office tomorrow. I think the kids would have revolted if I’d shipped it all off ;)

    For Easter dinner I had ham, lots of beans, carrots and about 1/2 cup of scalloped potatoes: and I ate off a side plate instead of a full-size dinner plate.

  8. Finola says:

    Nicely done! Sorry if I asked you this already, but what race are you training for?

  9. JennyB says:

    Your marathon training inspires me! I want to come and do hills with you on Wednesday nights. Will DM you.

Leave a Reply

