Sherrilynne – Week 6 – results at last

I’ve made a few small changes and this weight loss thing seems to finally be working.  I said in my last post that I recognised that I needed to make more changes to my lifestyle if I was ever going to see some results.

The first thing I’ve done is impose a no food after 7 pm rule.  I’ve read about people having success with this strategy, so wanted to give it a try.  It’s actually a big change for me.  Even by European standards, we tend to dine late in this household..often not finishing our evening meal until 9.30 or 10 pm.  It’s been a challenge to make this change, and I’d say I’ve had about a 50% success rate.  Work and life often gets in the way, but I’m going to stick with to see if I can improve.

Another change is that I started wearing a pedometer..or as I like to call it a…I’ve got to get moving meter.  It been a useful tool to gauge exactly how idle I can be.  Spending eight to ten hours a day looking at a screen is not the way to have an active lifestyle…even if you do workout for 40 minutes a few times a week.  Now a quick look at my pedometer tells me ‘I’ve got to get moving’ and it’s motivation enough to make me push myself away from the laptop and get out of a walk, or do the laundry and housework, or do anything other than work.  I’ve made it to 10k steps a few times now, and I’m striving to make that level daily.

The third change has been to focus on getting five servings of fruit andvegetables a day.  It’s helpful because if you are full of apples and bananas, you don’t have room for cheese and crackers. It’s that simple.  I’d say I’m winning on this one about 70% of the time.

One bad effect of these changes is that I’m not filling out my food diary on the WeightWatchers website, something I used to be diligent about.  I seem to be just a little too busy to sit down and do it now that I’m concentrating on getting moving. I have been keeping a running daily tally in my head, but I know that’s not good enough should I need to review things. I want to get back into the diary habit.

The tale of the scales

Good news here finally.  Two pounds in two weeks, and you can’t ask for better than that, right?  Also, I’ve finally reached my goal of losing 5% of my body weight…albiet a week late. Now onwards and downwards to 10% over the next six weeks.  I am really quite pleased because this is the least I’ve weighed in about four years now and people are starting to notice.

Green curry with chicken, served with roti

Image via Wikipedia

Recipe

This is one of my favourite WeightWatchers recipes.  It comes in at 9 Propoints per serving and you can’t tell it’s ‘diet food’ in the least: Thai Green Chicken Curry

Ingredients
1 spray(s) Cooking Spray, Calorie Controlled
6 medium Shallots, peeled and sliced
2 clove(s) Garlic, crushed
500 g Chicken, Breast, Skinless, Raw, cut into chunks
5 stem Lemon Grass Stems, very finely chopped (or 2 teaspoon prepared lemongrass)
2 teaspoons (grated) Ginger, Root, (or 2 teaspoon prepared ‘fresh’ ginger)
400 ml Coconut Milk, Canned
1 cube(s) Stock Cube, Vegetable, dissolved in 150 ml (1/4 pint) hot water
4 teaspoons Curry Paste, all types, Thai Green Curry Paste, Mild
2 tablespoons Thai Fish Sauce
2 tablespoons Coriander, Fresh
1 teaspoons Salt
1 teaspoons (ground) Pepper, Black (Whole, Cracked or Ground)
1 sprig(s) Coriander, Fresh, to garnish
Instructions

* Heat a wok or large frying pan and mist with low fat cooking spray. Add the shallots, garlic and chicken and cook over a medium-high heat for 4 – 5 minutes, or until the chicken is sealed and browned.

* Add the lemongrass, ginger, coconut milk, chicken stock and curry paste. Stir in the fish sauce or soy sauce and coriander. Simmer for 20 – 25 minutes, until the chicken is cooked and the sauce has reduced a little.

* Season with salt and pepper, if needed. Serve with cooked rice or noodles (remembering to add the extra POINTS values), garnished with coriander sprigs.

(The photo shows this dish served with roti, and you’ll have to add the Propoints for those)

Enhanced by Zemanta
Gallery | This entry was posted in Sherrilynne and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sherrilynne – Week 6 – results at last

  1. Shona says:

    That curry looks delish! I’m so happy that you found some strategies that are working for you! Yay for 2lbs gone and reaching the 5% goal! (and who cares if it’s a week ‘late’ in the long run! You are losing it and that’s what counts!) I think you are also right about the importance of tracking, so pick that up too, and you will be set!

    PS: If eating early gets too challenging, I personally believe it doesn’t make a big difference – I too eat late suppers and I have been having success regardless. I think it matters more what you eat, and how much, more than the time of day. (And that you move more, too.)

    • sherrilynne7 says:

      I think the eating early thing helps your body digest the food better? I’m not sure how it works, but my Mom is always commenting about how bad eating so late is for you. Also I know a couple of peeps that have had success with it. So I’ll keep it up for a while and see how it goes.

  2. Ron says:

    Congrats on the progress! Everyone has advice on what everyone else should do to lose weight, but it really comes down to finding out what works for you. It sounds like you are finding those things.

    Keep it going!

  3. Lara says:

    That’s great! It’s hard to make big changes, but it’s so awesome when they make a difference! I find it hard making new changes and keeping up with all commitments (like the tracking) – I need to be better at that too.

    Yay to a great two weeks!

  4. neeroc says:

    Congrats on the 2lbs, the 5%, the pedometer and everything else. Sounds like you’re really getting into a groove. Can’t wait to see how you do over the next 6 weeks. That curry looks AMAZING too, green curry/coconut milk is a fav of mine.

    • sherrilynne7 says:

      The curry is amazing..and low points too. It’s tastes as good as any restaurant curry I’ve had. :-)

  5. Doll says:

    Now if I could just find my pedometer?…..

    Think I’ll give that recipe a try. Looks yummy.

    Congrats for finding what works for you!

    Hugs
    Doll

  6. Sounds like you are finding new ways of living to make more healthful living part of your “rest of life” plan. I don’t know that there is magic about not eating after 7 but after supper is usually when people engage in mindless eating in front of a screen. If you haven’t had your supper yet, eat it and then cut yourself off. As for eating more veggies and moving more – pure victories there and they are sustainable changes for the long term.

    Congrats on the weight and (to me more important) fat percentage changes. You rock! Keep it up.

  7. Sasha says:

    Yay you! In our house it’s the no-food-after-8 rule, more for the sake of sleep than weight loss, but I have heard that getting more sleep can help lose weight. Who knew? All good though.

  8. Karen says:

    That does sound like an awesome curry. I think your changes to eating times can be beneficial. It can also help to eliminate carbs in the evening – or reduce them. Your body processes them differently so I try to eat any foods that have a carb load earlier in the day and taper them off in the evening. This was recommended to me by a dietitian. The only carbs she supported in the evenings were vegetables, except white potatoes.

    Congratulations! I’m sure the changes you’ve made will continue to net good results.

  9. Pingback: $40 Worth of Thai Food For Two - Deals2Inbox

Leave a Reply

