Sara – Week 31 – Cheeky

I sent a message through Facebook last week that went a little something like this: 

“Hey :)  I was wondering if you could email me that picture of my butt you have?”

Good thing Carey reads Losing It and completely understood why I would want a picture of my behind :) 

I was actually a little excited when she posted the picture because it is the first one of my derriere in ten years (aside from the ones from my wedding with the beautiful train on my dress) that didn’t make me cringe in horror.  I mean my ass is nothing to aspire to but the picture showed me that my whole self is shrinking and even my skinny jeans are a little on the loose side.

These are the non-scale victories that I need to remember.

Like in October when I went clothes shopping with a girlfriend for the first time in a decade.  I was always too embarrassed to take friends into plus size stores so I just (a) avoided shopping altogether (b) shopped alone.  Then in February I broke up with plus-size clothing stores permanently!

In preparation for my appearance on the A Morning Show (because every fat girl wants to be on TV) I went clothes shopping.  And discovered the paralyzing fear associated with choice.  When you’re fat, you have a handful of things you can choose from.  Now that I can shop in ‘regular’ stores the possibilities are endless.  That was me, in Old Navy, the one looking like a deer caught in the headlights with about 20 tops clutched in my arms. 

But there’s a happy ending.  I gathered up half my wardrobe, which actually amounts to about 8 things, and scurried on over to one of my best friends houses.  I tried on every combination of tops, sweaters and jackets and she helped me pick an outfit for TV.  And can I just say, I’ve been missing out, because trying on clothes and picking the right look is frankly a lot of stinking fun.  And I wasn’t even embarrassed for her to see the sizes of my clothes or to see me in my skivvies. 

I fear for my Mastercard’s wellbeing.

And a third victory to complete my trifecta of happiness:

That’s me (head intentionally cut off because I had running AND bed head) in a tank top, which I actually wear in public (GASP).  Like my behind, I’m no longer horrified by my arms.

The tale of the scale

Why all these happy non-scale victories?  Because the scale is on its way to being banished from the house. 

Grumble mutter curse.

I know I’m gaining musicle.  I know I’m getting stronger.  I know I’m changing my shape.  But I’m still fat and those numbers need to start dropping!

<Insert deep calming breath here>

In 10 days I lost 7.5 cm (arms, thighs, waist, chest, hips).  I’ve also lost 1% of my body fat in the last month, which leads me to wonder how much body fat I should expect to lose every few weeks.  I’ve invested in a new scale that will let me track my weight loss and my body fat % as well.

And wait for it…oh the anticipation…0.5 lbs down in 2 weeks.  That’s 1 whole pound this month <insert sarcasm here>.  Although I’ve been reassured that 1700-1900 calories a day will lead to weight loss because of my current weight and high activity level, clearly, it ain’t workin.  For the next two weeks I’m going to drop my calorie level down to 1600, which is what the nutritionist (who ran my BMR test) told me would lead to weight loss but at the time seemed like an extreme measure to me.

Cookies

Since starting Losing It we have gradually been replacing all the processed food in our house.  That means baking cookies, muffins, and snacks, instead of buying the store-bought variety.  Here’s our favourite oatmeal chocolate chip recipe:

1 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
2 tbsp butter, room temperature
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 large egg
1/4 cup plain, unsweetened apple sauce
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups quick cooking oats
1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon
In a large bowl, cream together the butter and the sugars. Beat in the egg, followed by the applesauce and the vanilla extract. Working by hand, stir in the flour mixture and the oats until just combined and no streaks of flour remain. Stir in the chocolate chips.
Drop tablespoonfuls of the dough onto the prepared baking sheet, flattening each cookie slightly. Bake for about 10-12 min. Cookies will be light brown at the edges when done.
Let cool on sheet for 3 or 4 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
Store in an airtight container.
Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

This entry was posted in Sara and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Sara – Week 31 – Cheeky

  1. Shona says:

    Hold on to those non-scale victories! The scale isn’t going down fast, but it is still going down. (and you are still shrinking!) I have hit some really frustrating plateaus lately too, but if you keep at it, you will keep losing and shrinking. (That’s what I tell myself and it’s true, just slower.)

    PS: Those skinny pants are too big! Time to go shopping again! ;) I am looking forward to some spring clothes shopping – even a new spring jacket!

    • Sara says:

      Thanks Shona. I’m really struggling with ignoring the numbers on the scale – I figure with 30+ pounds still to lose there’s enough fat there that it should keep disappearing! Working out so hard just makes my acceptance of the numbers more difficult because I think ‘come on, I’ve earned this!!!’

      Oh the shopping. It’s fun but my wallet is still in shock. And I must admit to feeling overwhelmed by shopping in ‘regular’ stores – there are so many to choose from!!

  2. Tracey says:

    Sara, you look amazing!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Those skinny jeans are indeed too big! You truly do look fabulous! I love all the non-scale victories – it’s super important to hold on to those in times when the stupideffingscale doesn’t show how hard you are working.

    In due time, that scale will be burning up with your new numbers…you’re turning a fitness corner, and it will all come out in the wash, as they say.

    Keep up the amazing work! Your activity levels inspire me. :)

    ~Jenn

    P.S. Nice ass! (can we say ass here?)

    • Sara says:

      lol I think I actually swore in one of my posts at one point so ‘ass’ is okay ;)

      Thanks Jenn! I need to keep repeating the non-scale victories in my head. Like buying bras at La Senza this weekend which I haven’t done in 12 (!!!!) years. And trying on a dress at Addition-Elle (because I was desperate) and it being too big despite being their smallest size.

  4. Lara says:

    You are looking amazing! Every time I see it I notice it a bit more :) I hope you’re proud of how wonderfully you’re doing. But I totally understand your frustration when it comes to the scale (although not because mine isn’t moving. Mine isn’t, but it’s my own fault, I don’t have the will power you do I don’t think ;)

    • Sara says:

      Its funny how your mind adjusts so quickly to the ‘new’ you. At first I thought I was super skinny but now my mind has interpreted this new body as still too big and I don’t like what I need in the mirror. Seriously, can we ever just be satisfied ;)

      And I don’t have great will power – I’m competitive and stubborn, which is apparently working in my favour for a change :P

  5. Melissa says:

    You’re looking awesome! I know we all focus on weight, but it’s honestly the least important part of the equation. As long as the pants keep getting baggier, you know what you’re doing is right! :) WTG!

    • Sara says:

      Thanks Melissa! The pants are definitely baggier: I may need to scrawl a reminder to myself on the bathroom mirror so I see it several times a day ;)

  6. andrea says:

    You look amazing Sara! It sounds like you’re doing all the right things.

    BUT, instead of dropping more calories, have you thought of just cutting out sugar for a short time? Could you do it for a week, just to see what happens? Seven days? That’s it! You could do that right???

    • Sara says:

      Smart thinking…offer the competitive gal a challenge ;)

      I think I could do it but I would modify it so it didn’t take up too much additional time and effort. I prepare all our meals from scratch (with the exception of breakfast – I eat Kashi cereal). The sugar I’d like to cut out is from processed food: like chocolate (okay, mostly chocolate). I think if I cut out processed foods and stuck to all things I’ve made myself, I could drastically reduce the amount of sugar I consume. And if I manage that maybe a complete elimination of sugar wouldn’t seem so daunting.

      Doable challenge or cop-out?

  7. Lynne Davis says:

    Doing great Sara. Remember that you are gaining muscle AND losing weight. Just keep going. You look awesome!

    You will be doing swimsuit photos in no time!!

  8. Karen F says:

    I always say, nobody but you knows what’s on the scale. But they do know how you look in your clothes – so that’s the important part! :)

  9. Amy says:

    Sara, you look fabulous! Having known you for so many years and knowing what an amazing person you are, I am so happy for you! Reading your blog and how honest you are is really motivating and refreshing, keep it up! :)

    PS: My mom refers to the baggy bum jeans as ‘saggy arse’ :) Hehe.

    xo

    • Sara says:

      LOL Thanks Amy :) There is definitely some saggy arse going on. But its a welcome change from ‘ooooh too tight to fit!!!’

      And a thank you for all the other kind words too xox back to you

  10. Fiona says:

    I can highly recommend 1600 calories a day. Since switching to having 4 x 400 calorie mini meals per day, I’ve been losing at a much faster rate than usual. It does take a while to ‘taper’ down to a 400 calorie meal though; the first 2 weeks I had a lot of trouble staying under the calorie limit.

    • Sara says:

      Yay! Glad I wasn’t overwhelmed by a flood of “don’t do it” comments ;)

      I like the idea of 400 calorie meals – it would be better for me than trying to eat protein and fibre as part of a snack and still keep within my calorie limits for meals. I find getting up at 5 to workout means that the stretch from breakfast to lunch feels like eternity.

      Thanks Fiona.

  11. Somekindofmom says:

    Congrats Sara! You are looking awesome! Shopping for new clothes (and picking out outfits!) is a great motivator to keep going!

    • Sara says:

      Thanks :) Shopping is fun if not somewhat overwhelming. There is so much choice that I don’t even know where to start now! The boys weren’t impressed this weekend when I dragged them through 4 stores ;)

  12. Annie B says:

    Congrats Sara!!!
    Arms are looking FIERCE!!! can’t wait until mine look like that!!! :)
    keep it up!
    Annie.

    • Sara says:

      Now I feel the urge to take a picture of my flexed arm :P

      Thanks Annie. My arms are now bat wings rather than teradactyl wings – the flappy parts are shrinking!!!

  13. Chantal says:

    You look amazing (like we are all saying). I saw you IRL last week and it is noticeable. :)

  14. Carey says:

    You look great Sara!! You are working so hard, it will all come off in time… Gosh those kids in that pic are cute ;) Glad you could use the picture!

    • Sara says:

      Thanks Carey and thanks again for the picture :) They are awfully cute kids!!

      Failed miserably at staying below 1600 today. Hoping for a better day tomorrow!

  15. Carey says:

    oh, and do you know how many calories are in those cookies? :)

  16. neeroc says:

    Fantastic news on the cm loss and you look great. I need to figure out how to whistle in a comment *g*

  17. Karen says:

    You’re looking great, and still shrinking, so you’re making really good progress. I think it’s normal when you’re losing a lot of weight to have shifts from time to time in how it comes off. I would be shocked (*SHOCKED*) if you didn’t have pounds melting away again in the next few weeks. You’re doing great, looking great and feeling great. What more can you ask for!? Keep up the great work!

  18. Pingback: Sasha – Week 0 – My List | Losing It In Ottawa

  19. Pingback: My List | Fit For Rambling

  20. Pingback: My List | Rambling Notebook

Leave a Reply

