Ronald – Week 1 – A side road on the journey

I’ve been to the gym all of zero times this week. Yup zero. I spent most of my time laying on the couch trying to recover from the flu. As I’m writing this on Saturday night I think I might actually be over it.

I did lose weight. Four pounds of it. This is more than I planned to lose this week, a week in which I pretty much had no physical activity.

Staying mostly on track with the eating is likely the reason for why I got these results.

I’ve converted from using SparkPeople.com (SP) to MyFitnessPal.com (MFP). I liked SP but I love MFP. MFP is a much less busy website and it is not an assault on the eyes like SP is. The food database is better and has a lot of Canadian specific products listed in it. You can customize the number and names of the meals. MFP is also like a mini facebook with your fitness friends online. Find me there as ‘onetwo8′.

The day before my introductory post I played in a charity tournament that raised money for Christie Lake Kids.  It was a lot of fun and I had never played in full gear outdoors before.  It was almost a perfect day for the ice, unfortunately just a bit too warm and the ice around the boards was a bit bad.  We raised $700, not a huge sum, but I believe it was appreciated and everyone had a good time.  I didn’t head out for beer with the boys after the tournament, likely a good choice.  Looking back on things, this outdoor tournament is likely what got me sick.

What’s the plan for the next two weeks? Well, pretty much what I planned to do last week, except without the flu.  Eat right, log my food, and hit the gym. Lying on the couch all week sounds fun, but it gets boring fast.

This entry was posted in Ronald and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Ronald – Week 1 – A side road on the journey

  1. Barbara says:

    Being on the couch all week definitely sounds blissful at first blush! I would miss the activity and interaction at the gym and running clinic, even work, after a day or two. Don’t be discouraged if some of your weight comes back once you’re healthier. Your health is worth more than a fast weight loss.

    Thanks for the description of the difference between Spark People and My Fitness Pal. I’ve been considering them since I’m finally going to take the plunge and buy a smart phone.

    • Ron says:

      I’m expecting a bit of a bounce up in the weight department. I’m likely not properly hydrated.

      re: MFP and smartphones… I’ve tried food/exercise tracking applications in the past and I’ve always thought they were great, but then you eat without access to the web and you need to paper track stuff or trust your memory. The smartphone apps really make a difference here. You can track on the go, pretty much anywhere.

  2. sherrilynne7 says:

    Glad you hear that you are on the mend. Have fun hitting the gym!

  3. Jay says:

    Ugh – I find that always happens. Somethign happens that can so easily derail your plans. Kudos to you for sticking with your food intake goals though! I find that difficult when sick as well.

    • Ron says:

      Ya, it is easy to go overboard in one meal and then not eat for hours and hours on end. I stayed pretty close on the calorie intake side, but the nutritional content is in doubt. All in all, I won’t dwell too long on this past week. :)

  4. Lara says:

    Poor you – I hope you feel better soon! I certainly know the feeling of things not going as planned – I’m trying to get all my plans all back on track during this break I’ve had with all the new bloggers :)

    • Ron says:

      I’m feeling quite a bit better today. Now time to plan for the coming week. What meals am I having, when am I having them, and when am I preparing them. When and what am I doing for exercise. etc… It sounds more complicated than I hope it will be :)

  5. Karen says:

    It was a curse upon the LIO team last fall and it bled into December and January too. Sickness – we just couldn’t shake it. I think we went about three months where one or more people was sick every single week – or dealing with sick family. So, we can definitely relate to the frustration of not getting to work toward your goals as planned. Onward and upward now! ;)

  6. jenn says:

    Congrats on the loss and rasing the $700, every little bit helps! Feel better soon!

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention Ronald – Week 1 – A side road on the journey | Losing It In Ottawa -- Topsy.com

  8. Sara says:

    Glad you’re feeling better! And thank you for explaining the difference between MFP and SP – I’ve been trying to do it unsuccessfully for almost two months now ;)

  9. neeroc says:

    Enjoy (I can’t believe I just typed that) the gym this week.

  10. Tracey says:

    Glad your feeling better! Lying on the couch does feel luxurious, but when your sick not so much!

  11. Pingback: Ronald – Week 3 – How Stress Sidetracked Me | Losing It In Ottawa

  12. Hey thanks for Playing for CLK! You guys were great – and community events do so much more than raise money – they engage the community, inspire people to make a difference and tell folks about what we do. We are so greatful for your efforts – and 700 helps a lot!

Leave a Reply

