Sherrilynne is here

Sherrilynne Starkie

I’ve been doing WeightWatchers on and off since about 1997.  I’ve been a online member for years too. After initial success in 1998 and then again in 2001, it seems my weight keeps going up and up.  In 2004 I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism, which is incurable. But, I’m not blaming my weight on that. It’s really down to the usual things. Too little consistency. Too little exercise.  Too much life.

With the launch of WeightWatchers new ProPoints program in the UK last autumn, I started anew.  And to help me ‘keep it real’ I started a blog on the WW site.  It really worked for me!  Between mid-November and New Years I lost 9lbs!  I am very proud of that.

But January in Ottawa was not so positive. I lost momentum and motivation. I didn’t keep track and didn’t work out.  I arrived back in Britain having regained 5lbs, and I’m pretty disappointed in myself.

When I saw a tweet about Losing It In Ottawa looking for bloggers I leaped at the chance. I’m certain that signing up will deliver enormous accountability to me and will help me keep on the straight and narrow.

And, I really must.  You see, the doc tells me that in addition to hypothyroidism, I seem to have developed another problem. The level of triglycerides in my blood is too high, and this is the first stage of heart disease.

Apparently, there’s no pill or tablet to ‘magic away’ the triglycerides.  I have to reduce my body mass though diet and exercise, according to the doctor. She agreed that WeightWatchers is definitely the way to go.

I intend to keep up my WW blog, but there I focus on food and recipes.  Here I plan to diarise my whole journey to gaining a clean bill of health.

Soon I’ll be re-immigrating to Canada and will settle in Ottawa where my family lives.  I plan to arrive fit and healthy.

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in Sherrilynne and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sherrilynne is here

  1. Barbara says:

    Welcome Sherrilynne! So many of us have gotten to the point where we know what we need to do, we’re just not doing it. I think you’re right that the accountability of blogging here – it will be both a carrot and a stick. It’s great to report on a success and sometimes knowing that you’re going to be reporting in will get your tired self to an exercise class, etc.

    Good luck with this process.

  2. Really looking forward to reading more from you, safe journey to Ottawa :)

  3. Lara says:

    Welcome! Losing it in Ottawa has kept me on track when nothing else would have and I’m sure it will do the same for you :) Glad to have you along for the ride! Yay to getting healthier!

  4. You can do it! I’m so inspired by all of the posts on this blog! I’m trying to encourage people (while keeping myself motivated) and this blog is just helping with that quest! Keep up the good work!!!

  5. Vicky says:

    Welcome! I too have had great success with weight watchers! I lost close to 40lbs back in 2001 and have gone back and forth with the program after pregnancies. I’m going to check out your ww blog for sure!

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention Sherrilynne is here | Losing It In Ottawa -- Topsy.com

  7. Chantal says:

    Welcome and looking forward to reading your posts.

  8. bigcheeser says:

    so this is how we learn you’ll be leaving us, EH! :'(

  9. sherrilynne7 says:

    Nah! I made my big announcement in November!

  10. Tracey says:

    Welcome! I look forward to reading you posts!

  11. Karen says:

    Sherrilyne, we’re so glad to have you join us. I completely understand the necessity to lose weight for long-term health issues – that’s where I’m at as well. I thought the threat to my overall health would be a good continuing motivator, but that hasn’t proven to be the case. I’ve had much better motivation right here at Losing it in Ottawa – from competing with myself to complete the various challenges we think up, to having a solid support system. I hope you find that helpful for you as well!

Leave a Reply

