Sara – Week 21 – Look at my skinny XL legs!

Disclaimer: There is a lot of excited hand-clapping in this post.  You’ve been warned.

Happy to be back at Booty Camp Fitness this week because as sweaty as it is and as much as I might dislike the occasional burpee and wind sprint, it works, and if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.  While we were waiting to get our booties beaten back into shape, Vicky commented on my skinny legs. 

I finally got proper workout/running pants AND pants that actually fit.  Bonus!  And despite the lumps and cellulite bumps my legs are looking leggy rather than stumpy. 

And that happy smile on my face? 

Well I went clothes shopping today because it was getting pretty desperate.  My yoga pants looked like maternity pants and owning only two pairs of jeans that fit makes getting dressed everyday a bit limiting.  “Hmmm, baggy yoga pants or a pair of jeans?  Oh wait, my jeans are in the wash…”

Along with another pair of running pants and running shirt, I bought myself two pairs of yoga pants, a few shirts, and a pair of jeans. 

And look.  LOOK!  Do you see?  No XXL, no 1X, or 2X or 3X.  Just a regular old XL from a regular old clothing store (Old Navy) .  I had to go back twice to the floor to get smaller sizes.  And when I got home I filled another black garbage bag full of clothes to donate.

The pair of jeans I bought?  I tried them on in November.  Actually I think I tried on every single style of jeans Old Navy carries in an attempt to find the right pair for my big 30 pound celebration.  Not a single pair fit.  But today?  The jeans (might I add they aren’t even the largest size Old Navy carries) fit.  They actually FIT!  <insert excited jumping up and down>

But it gets better.  That awful plateau where I hovered for the month of December?  I have scrambled, climbed, and hauled myself off it to the next level.  I weighed myself on Wednesday, giggled at the ridiculous number, then weighed myself again on Thursday, and actually shook my head because it was lower.  I averaged the two for a 4 pound loss this week <more excited hand clapping>

Except it gets better.  Seriously.  When I totalled the numbers I have lost 37.6 pounds since starting Losing It.  My weight loss goal when I started was 75 pounds and as of today I’m a smidge (0.1 lbs) more than halfway there!  Suddenly it doesn’t seem ridiculous or impossible that this is actually doing to happen <giddy excited hand clapping whilst jumping up and down>

I’m elated.  Giddy.  And 110% committed to making it the rest of the way to my goal.  I have been tracking every piece of food that passes my lips, guzzling water, ignoring the pedometer (note to others: it strongly dislikes being worn with loose yoga pants), and returning to my running routine despite fighting off a multitude of kid germs and generally feeling ill and tired.

One more <hand clap> just for good measure :)

This entry was posted in Sara and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Sara – Week 21 – Look at my skinny XL legs!

  1. FAN TAS TIC!!!!!!!!!!!! Seriously amazing work :)

  2. neeroc says:

    That’s totally worthy of a jumpy-clap! Congratulations you’re kicking ass!

  3. Shona says:

    More applause!!! You are doing so amazing! Yay for four pounds in a week! Yay for skinny legs! Yay for pants that fit (and the fact that you bought some finally)! You rock sister! I’m so proud of you. :)

  4. Capital Mom says:

    That is so so awesome!

  5. Christy says:

    You are AMAZING! You have come such a long way, you have motivation like I’ve never seen before. Keep up the nothingshortoffantastic work and you will reach your goal!

    @anniekiki

    • Sara says:

      Aw, you’re so sweet. I swear its the reserves of motivation I haven’t used for the last 10 years during my half-hearted weight loss attempts ;)

  6. Brittany says:

    Congrats and good for you! :) It’s nice to read local success stories like that. Pretty inspirational.

    Keep up the good work!

    @trickstah

  7. Fiona says:

    Congratulations!!! So proud of you :)

  8. Erin says:

    Wow Sara! Here’s some more excited hand clapping for you! :)

  9. tracey says:

    You are making me giddy! Way to go!

  10. Kerry says:

    That’s awesome, Sara! Do you think that the fact that you’re blogging about this experience gives you more or less motivation?

    • Sara says:

      Thanks Kerry. The only thing I’ve done differently this time (compared to the other 30 times I’ve tried to lose weight is) (a) tell everyone I know what I’m doing instead of keeping it a secret (b) replacing food as a crutch (with writing).

      The blog has given me accountability and motivation.

  11. Cindy Wolfe says:

    Yee haw!!!!! Your determination is inspiring! When are we going for a run? ;)

  12. Brenda says:

    Wow!!! Huge milestone! Congrats :D

  13. JennyB says:

    I’m clapping for you in my office! Way to go – that’s fantastic progress! WOOOO HOOOO!!!

  14. Sarah says:

    YAY that is great! Good for you! :)

  15. Jane says:

    AWESOME, FANTASTIC,TERRIFIC,AMAZING,MOTIVATING and most of all

    Your face shows the joy of your journey :)

    Way to go and can you hear the band from Bass Lake playing just for you.

    M

  16. Liisa says:

    Congratulations! I love that you are clearing out your closet as you go. It shows that you have a “never look back” attitude.

    • Sara says:

      Thanks Liisa. I tried packing my clothes away “in case” and my DH refused. He actually carried the bags out the garage himself to take to charity. Apparently ‘this is it’ :)

  17. Jodie says:

    Sara…I love your post! You definitely deserve to smile and giggle!!! Congratulations to you. Keep up the awesome work-you are a leading example of what hard work and perseverance can accomplish :) I look forward to seeing you next week!!

    • Sara says:

      THANK YOU for all your Booty Camp fantastic-ness!! I couldn’t have done this without Booty Camp :) I love coming to class, even when I’m tired and run down. And more exciting news…found some great running bras last night so I’m ready for jumping jacks!!!

  18. Rebecca Visscher says:

    So proud for you, for so many reasons!!!!!
    You go girl!

  19. Vicky says:

    You are a rockstar my friend! Go go go! I’m proud of you, and can’t wait to see you through the finish line!

  20. Amanda says:

    OH EM GEE, so exciting! I love that you bag up your too big clothes right away for charity! I have never been that brave and they’ve just journeyed to my basement. I should do that, if you don’t have clothes to “grow” into you’re less likely to backslide right? Keep up the awesome work! You’re very inspiring :)

    • Sara says:

      LOL Thanks Amanda. I tried to keep the clothes but DH was having nothing to do with it. It’s hard to let go of my ‘fat girl’ mentality but I have to if its going to work. My closet does look awfully sad right now….

  21. Chantal says:

    Oh Sara I am so happy for you! So happy! YAY!

  22. kaitlin says:

    wooooo hooo!

  23. Sasha says:

    WOO HOO! You go girl! That’s amazingly awesome.

  24. Hand clapping for you too!!! I know first hand how hard it is to stay committed!! GREAT job, VERY motivational, and inspirational. (walking over to the kitchen counter to put my cupcake back) ;)

    Keep it movin’!

  25. Erin says:

    WAHOO :) you go girl ;)
    I get dibs on taking you shopping for some fun running clothes for the spring :)

  26. Pingback: Money Monday: The meaning of ‘essential’

Leave a Reply

