Bloghop Sunday & Guest Post: 10 pounds lighter and no scale!

Today we’d like to introduce you to Katie, a wife and mom who’s been blogging about scrapbooking over at Kataroo’s Kitchen for four years. Katie more recently started So Write to chronicle her journey to better health; a journey that won’t include a scale. Read on (and don’t forget to link up below)!

*****

Okay, I have to admit this post might seem a little out there for a blog on losing weight and getting healthy.  But I ask you to trust me and to go along for a read.  I did something drastic recently, something frightening and maybe even a little crazy.  I threw my scale out! I actually picked up that awful hunk of metal and carried it down the stairs and out the door and placed it on top of the trash on trash day.  I even took a picture of it LOL.

I have fought a lifelong battle with that scale.  I have stood on that hunk of metal since I was 16 years old waiting for it tell me if I am worthy that day.  Worthy of what…love…respect…happiness?  Trust me the outcome was hardly ever happy.  I had an eating disorder most of my teenage and young adult life: Bulimia.  I won’t go into the horrors of that story here today. I was about 25 years old when I had finally beat the Bulimia to the curb, coincidentally the same place my scale recently landed.  I felt free, for the first time in years weight and food was no longer an obsession.  I ate what I wanted for the first time I think in my life.  I also stopped being active (uh oh).  I very quickly gained weight.  I went from a size 4 to a 22 by the time I turned 30.  I have to tell you though that I was happier and more confident at a size 22 then I was at a size 4.  In some ways my image distortion had reversed.  At a size 22 when I looked in the mirror I was shocked to see the fat girl staring back at me.  I didn’t feel like a fat girl.

A couple years ago I tried my hand at losing weight, having gotten fed up with that shocked feeling when I looked at pictures of myself, and the difficulty finding clothing I liked that fit a chubby girl.  I tried weight watchers.  I think Weight Watchers is a very healthy and sensible approach to losing weight.  I truly believe there is a reason why the first 3 letters in the word diet spell DIE.  I lost a good amount of weight on weight watchers and got myself down to a size 16.  I tell you the feeling of wearing those size 16 jeans was like pulling an orgasm on each time!  It felt DAMN GOOD! Unfortunately, the good feeling was short lived.  I soon discovered that the problem with ME following the WW program was that many of the habits were very similar to my eating disordered habits.  The counting of points was like counting calories, the recording of what I ate, the weighing in (although the program had you do it once a week, I was doing it daily).  I soon found a way to cheat on the program.  I would use the majority of my points on 100 cal chocolate bars and then eat zero point soup.   I turned a healthy way of eating into a DIEt and ended up in the good…bad…all…or nothing trap again.  The weight loss was not lasting and I gained back all the weight I had lost and more.

About 4 months ago I joined a gym.  There were a few reasons behind this catalyst, most of them just adding up to wanting to FEEL GOOD.  In joining the gym I really believe I discovered an athlete hiding in this chubby girl’s body.  I amazed myself with what this 200 pound plus plus girl could do.  I was working out 5-6 days a week.  I was pumping, spinning, running, and doing combat.

So with all this awesome stuff happening how on earth did the scale end up at the curb?  Let me tell you how.  On the scale’s ill-fated day, I had just finished an awesome 4km run (the furthest I had run at that point, I have now managed 10km.)  Not only had I had an awesome run, but one of the gym’s trainers came up to me and gave me a high five for a great run.  I was flying!  I felt so good about myself.  NOW LET ME TELL YOU WHAT I DID.  I walked into the change room right after that, took off my running shoes and stood before the scale.  I was actually going to stand on the scale after that.  Why?  Did I not believe how awesome I felt, did I NEED the scale to verify that indeed I really ran 4km?  What if I weighed a pound more, was I going to let the scale take all that away from me?  NO.

Right there and then I knew I was done.  The scale and I were over.  I knew that I would fair better with measuring or marking my SUCCESS with more meaningful measures.  So now I celebrate not the pounds lost, but the adding of 2 pounds of weight to the bicep track in pump, running further, spinning harder, my clothing size shrinking, or carrying my children without my back hurting.

I admit that for the first few days I would find myself over in that corner of the bathroom ready to face the music only to find that the scale was gone.   So Instead I would tell myself that I felt 10 pounds lighter that day.   Yep 10 pounds lighter!

*****

How is your journey to better health going? Link up here:

This entry was posted in Bloghop, Community, Guest Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Bloghop Sunday & Guest Post: 10 pounds lighter and no scale!

  1. Nat says:

    Great post. I recently started working out again (ugh) and found that the difference is just not reflected in the weight. I mean who knows who much I weigh, I had people tell me I look great… and I feel great. That should be enough. So the scale and I are breaking up too.

  2. mamad123 says:

    Good for you. I myself need to accountability of a number, but I shelve the dumb thing if I start weighing myself more than once or twice a week. The three times daily for me is not a healthy task!

    You sound like a fit gal…spinning pumping running..love to hear that. I think the exercise is a fantastic way to feel good about yourself…so many more highs than just watching a number go down (or up, or stay the same, and then having that decide for you how your day will go).

    I applaud your efforts!!

    _ Donna

  3. Lara says:

    I think this is awesome. you’re doing great and doing it without obsession. That’s so key. SO SO SO key. So yay to you and I’m glad you’re following along and taking part in our journey :)

  4. Rachel Tops says:

    I have to tell you readers .. Katie is one of my best friends .. and the amount of spirit and faith she has, has added to her much deserved success as has her work! She is a beautiful soul, and an inspirational one. The demons she has fought and still fights never break her, but push her to get to that workout, and share this story.

    I am SO PROUD OF YOU SWEET FRIEND! You inspire me always! :)

    Much Love
    R
    XOOX

  5. Karen says:

    Katie, your enthusiasm and determination are so infectious. What an awesome story – and your kids are watching you do all of this which is so good for them! I love that you threw out the scale after realizing it was only holding you back mentally. What a hard step to take for someone who’s trying to lose weight and an insightful observation that it was spoiling your successes! Because, seriously, this is hard enough without having something like that knocking you down at every turn.

    Thanks for sharing!

  6. Susan Poulin says:

    Katie,
    I have only known you for a short while but I think you have what it takes to be in very good health. Determination! I have been swimming one hour a day for a bit and I have lost weight and feel good. I know that body image is important to most of the world but what really is wonderful with exercice is the self confidence we get back just from feeling energized. Our minds think differently; we feel like starting our day and we want to do a million things. I think the benefits of exercice are not just related to losing weight but also to a more positive outlook on ourselves and life.

  7. Brie says:

    This was a great post. Thanks for this.

  8. Karen F says:

    I can relate to this. I used to have eating disorders as a teenager too, and I had more confidence when I was much bigger – funny eh? You think we’d be more confident skinnier but when you beat the disorder you do get more confident. Either that or just age does it. Probably a bit of both.

    As far as the scale goes, I’ve always said, who really cares what you weigh because nobody else knows except for you. It’s how you look that the world sees – they don’t see the number. So if you’re toned (which sadly I am not) and are working out, and your pants size is going down, then you are on the right track. You’re right, you don’t really need a scale. You sound so empowered, and have such a healthy attitude!!

  9. Dorrie says:

    you definitely inspired me to throw my own scale away a few months ago… it was the best thing i ever did…
    congrats on your successes!

  10. Jamie says:

    Katie, I love this post. It is amazing to read these comments and see how you doing great for your health and well being but that you are inspiring so many others!

    Outstanding. Stay the course.

  11. Pingback: A few exciting changes to Losing it in Ottawa | Losing It In Ottawa

Leave a Reply

